This is the "Home" page of the "Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Fondren Logo
horizontal band

Medicine   Tags: medicine, natural science  

Medical resources guide
Last Updated: Mar 8, 2013 URL: http://libguides.rice.edu/medicine Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Medicine

Check out the BRC @ Fondren website: BioScience Research Collaborative

Here is a link to the Rice Office of Technology Transfer

 

Futurity RSS Feed: Health & Medicine

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Google Scholar

Try using Google Scholar to search for articles. Google Scholar limits your search to scholarly literature.



 

Major Databases

The following is a list of selected databases available through Rice. For a complete list, or to search go to the Rice Catalog: Articles & Databases

Biological Abstracts: Biological Abstracts is a reference database which includes journals in the life sciences from all over the world.

BioMed Central Open Acess: Provides access to peer-reviewed freely available journals in the biomedical fields.

Current Index to Statistics: A bibliographic index to publication in statistics and related fields.

Entrez: A search and retrieval system from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It integrates information from databases such as PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.

Gale Virtual Reference Library: The Gale Virtual Reference Library includes dictionaries and encyclopedias covering: Biography, General Reference, History, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Science.

GenBank: From NCBI, "GenBank® is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences".

Health Reference Center- Academic: Health referece database with over 8,400,000 articles from 1980-2010. Provides access to full-text journals in nursing and allied health.,436,03688,436,036,436,036

Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition: This health reference database includes nearly 550 full-text scholarly journals in many medical disciplines with a strong focus on nursing and allied health.

Medline (ISI Web of Knowledge): Medline provides access to thousands of articles in biomedical and life sciences.

Medline (via Firstsearch): Medline covers over 4,000 journals covering all areas of medicine.

Medline with MESH: Medline with MESH provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.

ProQuest Science Journals: Includes scientific journals covering physical and life sciences.

PubMed @ Rice University: PubMed includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles. The PubMed @ Rice University implementation contains links to the full texts of articles that are part of the Rice University journal subscriptions.

Scopus: This database indexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages and U.S. and international patents.

 

Known Item Search

If you have limited information about an article try the PubMed Single Citation Matcher to find it. Just enter as much information as you can (for example: journal title, author, volume number, or year).

 

Search the Catalog

Search Fondren Library's catalog

 

To find the floor location of a call number consult this "stack location guide".  View the library floor maps for further information.

Other Sources for Finding Books Include:

WorldCat
To locate items that are not listed in the library catalog, use this combined catalog for over 18,000 libraries worldwide.

ILLiad: Interlibrary Loan
To request a book or journal article that is not available in the Fondren Library, fill out the form on the library's Document Delivery website. This free service is available to Rice students, faculty, and staff only.

Subject Specialist

LibGuide Links

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip