This is the "Home" page of the "Asian American Materials in Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Fondren Logo
horizontal band

Asian American Materials in Special Collections   Tags: archives, asia, asian_studies, original_documents  

Manuscript collections, newspapers, oral histories, books and more available via the Woodson Research Center.
Last Updated: Jun 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.rice.edu/asianstudies-archives Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chao Center for Asian Studies

The Woodson Research Center at Fondren Library collaborates with Chao Center for Asian Studies to provide access to these research materials which are brought in thanks the community connections of the Chao Center. 

 

Additional guides to Fondren materials

 

Oral histories

Houston Asian American Archives oral history interviews, 1980-2013 (MS 573)

This is a collection of oral history interviews conducted by the Chao Center for Asian Studies at Rice University and interviews by the Vietnamese American Heritage Foundation. The collection includes interviews with Asian Americans living in Houston and Texas. Many of the interviews are in the English language, some are in Vietnamese.

There are currently 204 interviews in the collection, mostly dating from 2010-2013, with expectation that more new interviews will be added annually.

There are a number of interviews from 1980 which were a gift of Dr. Edward C.M. Chen who participated in many of those interviews.

These are audio interviews with transcripts, and in some cases video interviews, available online.
 

Family and business collections

Chuan-Hua Gershom Lowe, National Party, Chinese diplomat papers, 1923-1996 (MS 588)
The collection consists of the correspondence, papers, and selected books accumulated and saved by Chuan-Hua Gershom Lowe throughout his lifetime as student, journalist, Chinese embassy official, librarian, husband, and father. Lowe was born in China in 1902, earned a bachelor’s degree at the University of Chicago, lived again in China, in Burma, in India, in Argentina, in Canada, and again in the U.S., dying in 1996. (5 boxes)
Braes Republican Women's Club records, 1980-2009 (MS 601)
Donated by active Republicans Dr. and Mrs. Edward C.M. Chen, these club records show the activities of the Braes Republican Women's Club in Houston, such as meeting minutes and detailed scrapbooks featuring photographs of members and various events. The period of time covered by this material includes Dr. Chen’s term of service as Harris County Republican Party Chair. Dr. and Mrs. Chen both appear in this collection, which was maintained by Mrs. Chen. (3 boxes)
Chen Family Collection, 1920-2010 (MS 561)
Materials related to the Edward C.M. Chen family in Houston, Texas, including Chinese language instruction materials by Edward T.K. Chen, newspaper columns written by Edward C.M.Chen, and newsclippings and photocopies of images featuring the Chen family and other Chinese Americans in Houston and Texas. (1 box)
Gene and Hedy Lee Chinese newspapers and photographs, 1962-2010 (MS 556)
Newspaper issues of the Southwest Chinese Journal (cataloged separately and available full text online), photographs submitted to the newspaper for publication purposes and a small amount of correspondence regarding the Lee Printing Company of Houston, Texas, owned by Gene and Hedy Lee. The newspapers and photographs reflect Chinese culture in Houston during the 1970s and 1980s, including family life, business activities, cultural arts and organizations, news, and special events such as the Miss Chinatown pageants. (1 box, plus newspaper issues)
 
Chinese American Citizens Alliance records (Houston Chapter) 1970s-2000s (MS 606)
This collection contains correspondence, programs, and other papers regarding or created by the Chinese American Citizens Alliance (CACA), related to the national organization or to the Houston Lodge specifically, as well as personal papers of Edward K.T. Chen. It also contains a variety of materials about Asian-Americans and Chinese-Americans. (3 boxes)
 
Bobby Joe Moon family genealogy collection (MS 581)
Family trees, notes, photographs, correspondence and newsclippings documenting the family history of Bobby Joe Moon, a Houstonian of Chinese American descent. (1 box plus digital content)

 

Houston newspapers

Southwest Chinese Journal = Xi nan shi bao (1976-1985)
Houston based newspaper primarily in Chinese.
Available online at the UNT Portal to Texas History, full-text searchable.
Original newspapers (2 boxes) available in the Woodson Research Center, call # AN10 .S68
Contact woodson@rice.edu or call 713-348-2586 for assistance.


įžŽå—æ–°čž = Southern Chinese daily news (1979-2008)

Houston based newspaper, primarily in Chinese.
Original newspapers (270 boxes) available in the Woodson Research Center, call # AN10 .M44
Contact woodson@rice.edu or call 713-348-2586 for assistance.


Thoi bao Houston : the Vietnamese newspaper (2010-2012)
Original newspapers available in the Woodson Research Center, call # AN90 .T46 2010-2012
Contact woodson@rice.edu or call 713-348-2586 for assistance.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip