This is the "Searching the library catalog" page of the "Music - Vocal" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Fondren Logo
horizontal band

Music - Vocal   Tags: music, singing, vocal, voice  

Last Updated: Apr 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.rice.edu/voice Print Guide RSS Updates

Searching the library catalog Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Call numbers and subject headings for vocal music

operas - full scores M1500
operas - vocal scores with piano M1503
operas - excerpts - full scores M1505
operas - excerpts - arranged accompaniment M1506
choruses with orchestra or other ensemble M1530-M1546.5

choruses, part-songs, etc., with accompaniment of keyboard or other solo instrument, or unaccompanied 

M1547-M1600
songs for one voice M1611-M1626
songs with orchestra  M1613
songs with 2 or more instruments (chamber) M1613.3
sacred vocal music M1999-M2199

 

 Browse more music call numbers (pdf with links)

 

 

Subject headings for vocal music (search by subject or keyword in Webcat)

 

Songs--Indexes

Songs--Texts

Singing--Instruction and study

Vocal music, Italian--Bibliography

Vocal music--Bibliography

English poetry--Musical settings--Bibliography

English poetry--19th century—Musical settings--Bibliography

Classical mythology--Songs and music--Indexes

Songs with instrumental ensemble--UnitedStates--20th century--Bibliography

Vocal duets with instrumental ensemble—United States--20th century--Bibliography

Shakespeare--Musical settings

 

One Search

Search our new multi-source search engine, One Search:

One Search allows you to search the library catalog, while simultaneously searching 50 of the library's most significant sources of articles and essays.  You can add your own tags to items and save sets of interest.  The catalog records in this interface include book jackets, author notes & sketches, reviews, tables of contents, first chapter excerpts or summaries, and tables of contents (all of which are searchable).

 

Finding Scores and Recordings online

Sound and Video Recordings

Fondren subscribes to the following streaming music libraries.  Check here if you don't find it by searching the catalog.  NOTE:  Off-campus users must use a Rice VPN account to listen.

Classical Music Library

Naxos Music Library

DRAM Database of Recorded American Music

Opera in Video

 

Scores

Free public domain scores, and sometimes parts, available for downloading.

 No Rice affiliation needed.

Public domain scores at the Sibley Music Library, Eastman.

International Music Score Library Project

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mary Brower
Contact Info
B35-K, Reference Office, Fondren Library, basement; 713-348-2593
Send Email
Subjects:
Music
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip