Owlspace Goes Mobile!
Owlspace has developed a mobile interface
No downloads or apps are required - point your browser to
https://owlspace-ccm.rice.edu/portal
Search WebCat
Please remember that the online catalog is a finding aid ... if you are off campus, it will not identify you as a valid user of Rice resources. Please see our remote access instructions for assistance in using these resources when away from campus
Finding Books when Mobile
- Connexions EPubDownload open access books from Connexions - instructions at http://cnx.org/help/viewing/epub-help
- Finding & Downloading Fondren's Ebooks**Instructions on how to download the free readers, and how to find and use our ebooks (online and mobile)
- Google BooksSearch for books (defaults to 'free books' you can view completely).
- Project GutenbergDownload the free application to your device
- WorldCat MobileSearch for library materials and a library near you. Download the free application to your device
Search Ejournals
Please remember that the Ejournal Portal is a finding aid ... if you are off campus, it will not identify you as a valid user of Rice resources. Please see our remote access instructions for assistance in using these resources when away from campus
Finding Resources (Mobile) - General Sources
This is a listing of resources available to Rice University faculty, students and staff with interfaces designed for portable devices (phones, PDAs, etc.). Use URL http://tiny.cc/Fondren to access on your phone or PDA.
- Academic Search Complete MobileMobile access to Academic Search Complete fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Access myLibraryPoints you to public libraries within 10 miles of you; select a library and access all its Gale resources. List of Gale databases shared by Fondren & Houston Public at http://library.rice.edu/research/indexes_databases/texsharedatabases Iphone only.
- Alt Health Watch MobileMobile access to complementary & alternative medicine fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Cambridge Journals Online Mobile (CJOM)Search abstracts, set up alerts via your mobile. If on the Rice Owls wireless, you will have access to fulltext.
- Film & Television Literature Index MobileMobile access to the spectrum of film & TV writing, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Fuente Academica MobileMobile access to scholarly, Spanish-language journals from Latin America & Spain, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia MobileMobile access to over 25,000 encyclopedia entries, fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryFor iPhone/iPad/Android; register once using your RICE EMAIL to use this collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc.
- Health Source Consumer MobileMobile access to consumer health information fulltext (proxy enabled)
- JSTOR MobileBrowse & email citations. Use fulltext on the Rice Owls wireless network
- Masterfile Premier MobileMobile access to a general index to periodical literature, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Newspaper Source MobileMobile access to international, U.S. and regional-U.S. newspapers with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Scopus LiteMobile access, iPhone/iPad; requires ON CAMPUS registration - see details at http://info.scopus.com/mobile/#faq_s
- Serials Directory MobileMobile access to up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for serials
- Texas Reference Center MobileMobile access to journals and books about Texas history, biography, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, etc.; includes fulltext (proxy enabled)
- TOPICSearch MobileMobile access to current events database exploring social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms; with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- WikipediaPopular community-built encyclopedia
Find Resources (Mobile) - Science/Engineering
- Agricola MobileMobile access to agriculture information fulltext (proxy enabled)
- American Chemical Society Mobile for iphoneAccess to ACS ASAP articles, indexing and abstracts for all ACS journal articles, Latest News from Chemical & Engineering News Online. Iphone/Ipod Touch ONLY
- American Institute of Physics (AIP) iResearchDownload PDFs of AIP research and view offline. Iphone/Ipod touch ONLY
- American Mathematical Society"Pair" your mobile to the Library's account to access fulltext AMS journals & MathSciNet
- Annual Reviews MobileIphone/Ipad/Android. Fulltext articles from AR
(See http://www.annualreviews.org/page/about/mobile for info on how to "tie" your device to Fondren's subscriptions and read journals without a login.) - arXiv MobileAn iPhone app also is available at http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewSoftware?id=311788753&mt=8
- BioMedCentral TOC (via Avantgo)New literature from the open-access science, technology & medicine publisher. Registration (free) on Avantgo required on a workstation
- Computer Source MobileMobile access to latest trends in technology fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Health Source : Nursing/Academic MobileMobile access to scholarly journals in medical and allied fields, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- IEEE Xplore MobileIEEE Xplore Mobile provides free search of all IEEE Xplore documents directly on your mobile device. You can view up to 10 article abstracts per search. (proxy enabled)
- Information Science & Technology Abstracts MobileMobile access to books, journals, etc in the field of information science, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts MobileMobile access to literature dealing with applications both in the home and business, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- MedicLatina MobileMobile access to medical research literature in Spanish language, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Medline MobileMobile access to medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more, includes fulltext (proxy enabled)
- MedLine Plus, Mobile (from NLM)Search for reliable health information from the National Library of Medicine
- New Scientist Archive MobileMobile access to the latest science and technology news from around the world, 1997 to date fulltext (proxy enabled)
- PubMed for HandheldsJournals indexed by the National Library of Medicine
- Science & Technology Collection MobileMobile access to leading journals covering scientific & technical topics, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Science MobileFulltext when on Rice Owls wireless. iPhone & Android apps allow emailing article URLs only
- SciFinder MobileMobile access to chemistry; Blackberry, Android, Windows7. Sign in with your web pword
- Scopus LiteMobile access, iPhone/iPad; requires ON CAMPUS registration - see details at http://info.scopus.com/mobile/#faq_s
Finding Resources (Mobile) - Humanities
- America: History & Life (Mobile)Mobile access to history of Canada & U.S. fulltext (proxy enabled)
- ArtStor MobileIphone/IPod/IPad; Requires Safari; see http://help.artstor.org/wiki/index.php/ARTstor_Mobile for more info
- Bibliography of North American Indians MobileMobile access to list of information sources on all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. (proxy enabled)
- Classical Music LibraryUsing the standard interface, CML will allow you to send a text link to your phone. Iphone or Android only
- ERIC MobileMobile access to educational topics fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Historical Abstracts MobileMobile access to world history literature fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Humanities International Complete MobileMobile access to books, journals and other humanities sources fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts MobileMobile access to topics ranging from bibliometrics to information management, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- MAS Ultra MobileMobile access to popular and current events magazines selected for high school research, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Middle Search MobileMobile access to popular magazines for middle and junior high school research, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Naxos Music LibraryIphone only; requires using Fondren Library's subscription (on Rice IP workstation) to construct playlists
- Oxford Journals MobileOxford journals, including how to "link" to Fondren's subscriptions
- Primary Search MobileMobile access to popular magazines for primary school research, includes fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Professional Development Collection MobileMobile access to scholarly journals targeted toward professional educators; includes fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Religion & Philosophy Collection MobileMobile access to scholarly literature dealing with range of religions and philosophy topics, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals MobileMobile access to index of 19th-century music periodicals. (proxy enabled)
- RISM Series A/II MobileMobile access to an index of music manuscripts produced after 1600 (proxy enabled)
- SportDiscus MobileMobile access to topics from exercise, to coaching, to sports medicine; with fulltext (proxy enabled)
Finding Resources (Mobile) - Social Sciences
- Business Source Complete MobileMobile access to scholarly business journals, covering accounting, finance and management; with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- EconLit MobileMobile access to literature of economics fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Economia y Negocios MobileMobile access to Spanish-language business literature fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Legal Collection MobileMobile access to scholarly law journals fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Military & Government Collection MobileMobile access to military & general interest periodicals, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Oxford Journals MobileOxford journals, including how to "link" to Fondren's subscriptions
- Peace Research Abstracts MobileMobile access to literature dealing with peace and conflict studies, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection MobileMobile access to the literature of psychology, cognition and emotion, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Public Administration Abstracts MobileMobile access to concise, descriptive summaries of the most relevant journal articles and books in the public administration field today. (proxy enabled)
- Regional Business MobileMobile access to regional business journals, newspapers and news-wires, with fulltext (proxy enabled)
Finding News when Mobile
- ABC News
- BBC Mobile News
- Business Week
- CBS News
- CNET News
- CNN Mobile
- Google News
- Houston Chronicle
- Houston NewswireIphone
- MSNBC
- New York Times
- Newspaper Source MobileMobile access to international, U.S. and regional-U.S. newspapers with fulltext (proxy enabled)
- Time
- Wall Street JournalDownload free apps for the Blackberry and Iphone
- Washington Post
- Yahoo News
Mobile Life Tools
- Accuweather MobileCurrent weather and projections
- Houston TranStar MobileSpeed maps, travel times, road and construction closures
- Mobile Google MapsMaps, driving directions, etc.
- PingPost messages to 40+ social sites from your handheld
- Tweetdeck (Beta)Sync your personal accounts for Twitter, Facebook, etc. into one
- What's the Wait?Find and enter restaurant wait times and seating status nationwide!
Using Your Mobile Device at Rice (from Rice IT)
- Rice University app (Iphone)
- Blackberry Email
- Cell Phones, Smart Phones and PDAs at Rice
- Connect a Blackberry to "Rice Owls" wireless (PEAP)
- Connect an iPhone or iPod touch to "Rice Owls" wireless (IDEngines TTLS)
- Connect and iPhone or IPod touch to "Rice Owls" wireless (PEAP)
- iPhone Email
- Smartphone (Windows Mobile) Calendaring
- Smartphone (Windows Mobile) Email
Ask a Librarian
Email us at reference@rice.edu or use our webmail form.
Call us at (713) 348 5113 or (713) 348 5119.
Visit us at the Reference Desk during regular hours .
-
Subject specific questions can be answered by contacting the subject specialists .


Loading...
