This is the "Books" page of the "Resources for Twentieth-Century (and beyond) Music Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Fondren Logo
horizontal band

Resources for Twentieth-Century (and beyond) Music Research   Tags: contemporary, electronic, modern, music, new  

Last Updated: Apr 10, 2012 URL: http://libguides.rice.edu/newmusic Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Readings

Audio Culture: Readings in Modern Music - Christoph Cox (Editor); Daniel Warner
Call Number: ML197 .A85 2004
ISBN: 0826416144
Publication Date: 2004

The Cambridge History of Twentieth-Century Music - Nicholas Cook (Editor); Anthony Pople (Editor)
Call Number: ML197 .C26 2004
ISBN: 0521662567
Publication Date: 2004

The Ambient Century - Mark Prendergast; Brian Eno (Foreword by)
Call Number: ML197 .P76 2000
ISBN: 1582341346
Publication Date: 2001

Circumscribing the Open Universe - Thomas DeLio
Call Number: ML200.5 .D44 1984
ISBN: 0819137472
Publication Date: 1984-01-01

Repeating Ourselves - American Minimal Music As Cultural Practice - Robert Fink
Call Number: ML197 .F54 2005
ISBN: 0520240367
Publication Date: 2005

Twelve-Tone Tonality - George Perle
Call Number: MT40 .P46 1996
ISBN: 0520201426
Publication Date: 1996

Generalized Musical Intervals and Their Transformations - David Lewin
Call Number: ML3809 .L39 1987
ISBN: 0300034938
Publication Date: 1987

The Algorithmic Composer - David Cope
Call Number: MT56 .C668 2000
ISBN: 0895794543
Publication Date: 2000

Source: music of the avant-garde, 1966-1973 - Larry Austin (Editor); Douglas Kahn (Editor); Nilendra Gurusinghe (Editor)
Call Number: ML197 .S695 2011
ISBN: 9780520257481
Publication Date: 2011

Micro-bionic : radical electronic music and sound art in the 21st century - Bailey, Thomas Bey William.
Call Number: ML1380 .B35 2008
Publication Date: 2008

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The language of twentieth-century music: A dictionary of terms. - Fink, Robert, and Robert Ricci.
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML100 .F55
Publication Date: 1975
Includes definitions of technical terms, instruments, analysis, and performance practice in all genres and styles.

Thames and Hudson Encyclopædia of 20th-century music. - Griffiths, Paul.
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML100 .G85 1986
Publication Date: 1986
Concise entries on composers, performers, institutions, instruments, performance and theory terms, individual works.

Contemporary composers. - Morton, Brian, and Pamela Collins, eds.
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML390 .C66 1992
Publication Date: 1982
500 composers from around the world with emphasis on U.S. and Europe. Entries include biographical information, lists of works and selective bibliography.

Brewer’s twentieth-century music. - Pickering, David.
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML100 .P54 1994
Publication Date: 1994
General dictionary covering classical, popular and jazz music of the 20th century. Includes entries on composers, performers, genres, medical ailments, trends.

The Ashgate Research Companion to Experimental Music - James Saunders
ISBN: 9780754662822
Publication Date: 2009

 

Chronologies

Chronology of American popular music, 1900-2000. - Hoffman, Frank.
Call Number: ML3477 .H64 2008

Music since 1900. - Slonimsky, Nicolas.
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML197 .S694 1994
Publication Date: 1994

A twentieth century musical chronicle: events 1900-1988 - Hall, Charles J.
Call Number: ML 197 .H15 1989
Publication Date: 1989

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mary Brower
Contact Info
B35-K, Reference Office, Fondren Library, basement; 713-348-2593
Send Email
Subjects:
Music
 

Bibliographies & Indexes

Perspectives of new music: an index, 1962- 1982. - Basart, Anne P.
Call Number: REF ML1 .P1093 B4 1984
Publication Date: 1984
Author/Subject index to 20 years of Perspectives of New Music, a leading academic journal of commentary and analysis of contemporary music.

Index to biographies of contemporary composers, 1964-1987. 3 vols. - Bull, Storm.
Call Number: REF ML105 .B9
A cumulative index to 275 books relating to contemporary music. Each volume consist of a list of sources followed by the names of composers. Codes under the composer’s name refer to one of the source books.

Music analyses: an annotated guide to the literature. - Diamond, Harold J.
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML128 .A7 D5 1991
Publication Date: 1991
References to analytical literature in English on Western art music, including works by contemporary composers. Includes citations from books, journals, and dissertations.

20th-century American composers. 2nd ed. - Gleason, Harold, and Warren Becker.
Call Number: ML161 .G522 1980 v.4
Publication Date: 1980
Information on Barber, Carpenter, Copland, Cowell, Hanson, Harris, Ives, Moore, Piston, Riegger, Rogers, Ruggles, William Schuman, Sessions, Randall Thompson, Virgil Thomson. Each article contains chronology, list of works, summary of style with references to works, and thorough bibliography through 1979.

The twentieth-century composer speaks: an index of interviews. - Nishimura, Mari.
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML118 .N57 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Citations to interviews conducted between 1949 and 1987 published in books, journals, and on sound recordings.

Analyses of nineteenth- and twentieth-century music, 1940-1985. - Wenk, Arthur B.
Call Number: ML113 .W45 1987
Publication Date: 1987

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip