Managing Reference Data with Zotero: Syncing Zotero Library

While Zotero stores all research information locally on your computer by default, Zotero's sync functionality allows you to maintain one up to date Zotero library and access it on any computer with internet access.

• In order to sync your Zotero library, you need to create an account on Zotero website at https://www.zotero.org/user/register. This is free, no charge.
• Then go to Zotero -> Preferences -> Sync; enter your Zotero user name and password 

Zotero syncing has two parts: data syncing and file syncing.

• Data syncing
  Everything in your collections, including items, notes, links, and tags, — everything except attachment files,  will be saved to the Zotero server.  There is no limit to the amount of data that can be synced with your free Zotero account.

• File syncing
  With your Zotero account, you are given 300 MB of free Zotero File Storage to sync the attached files, with larger storage plans available for purchase. Other syncing options include using a WebDAV service (note group libraries cannot use WebDAV) or Linked File Attachments. 

Rice has purchased an institutional file storage plan with Zotero, so you have unlimited Zotero storage to sync your attached files. This also means you can use Zotero file storage for Zotero groups. 

• In order to use Rice's institutional file storage with Zotero, make sure your rice.edu email address has been added to your Zotero account. 
  • login to your Zotero account at https://www.zotero.org/user/login/
  • Settings -> Account -> Add email address. Your Rice email address doesn't have to be the primary email, but it needs to be added. 
  • Settings -> Storage to check your storage status. 
    
• For Rice's Zotero terms of service, read at https://library.rice.edu/zotero-TOS

• To find your Zotero library on your local computer, go to Zotero -> Preferences -> Advanced tab -> Files and Folders tab -> Show Data Directory. This will reveal the folder on your computer that contains your Zotero library. 
• To back up your Zotero library, just copy the Zotero folder to a backup location. 

The most important file in the data directory is the zotero.sqlite file, which is the database containing the majority of your data: item metadata, notes, tags, etc. The directory also contains a 'storage' subdirectory, containing all of your file attachments, such as PDFs, web snapshots, audio files, or any other files you have imported.