This libguide includes an overview of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Policy for Data Management and Sharing (DMS) (effective January 25, 2023) and resources to support researchers who are developing a data management and sharing plan.
If you are unfamiliar with the new policy, we recommend that you first view the "Start Here" section of this libguide and then review additional resources as needed.
When you are ready to write a data management and sharing plan, you may find the DMP Tool to be helpful. Fondren librarians can assist you with developing a plan, and the DMP Tool provides a template aligned with both NIH's policy and Rice's data management policy and procedures.
If you would like a guided tour of the process and resources, consider signing up for our webinar on Nov. 2 at 12-1 pm. Materials from the webinar will be available in this libguide.
Please don't hesitate to contact us at email@example.com if you have questions or need additional support with your data management and sharing plan.
Effective January 25, 2023, the NIH Policy for Data Management and Sharing requires that investigators and institutions:
NIH's Data Management and Sharing Policy Overview provides a summary of the policy and is a good starting point.
For the full policy, see 2023 Final NIH Policy for Data Management and Sharing
NIH's Scientific Data Sharing website contains a wealth of resources to support the development and implementation of data management and sharing plans. Top resources include the following:
NIH also provides information about other data sharing policies:
Rice's Policy on Research Data Management (#308) provides Rice-specific guidance on managing and sharing research data.
One of the requirements of the new policy is a clear and effective data management and sharing plan. Fondren Library provides researchers access to the DMP Tool, which provides data management plan templates that can be customized for an investigator's project.
To get started, logon to the DMP Tool website using your Rice email for SSO. Within the site's Help area, there is a Quick Start Guide that orients you to the tool.
When creating a new plan for an NIH proposal, select NIH-GEN DMSP (Forthcoming) as the primary funding organization to access a template that provides guidance and recommended language consistent with the new NIH policy.
We recommend keeping "DMPTool" as a source of guidance within the "Select Guidance" area of the Project Details page. Rice resources and supplementary recommendations (where applicable) also appear in the guidance section of the template.
Some DMP elements depend heavily on the specifics of a research project and the nature of the data being collected. As you develop your plan, consider the following:
Rice's Information Technology department provides information about data storage options at Rice. Please contact the Center for Research Computing to discuss your needs and possible solutions as you are developing your DMS plan.