Mogao Caves: Databases

– over 3,000 hits for the term 莫高窟 (Mogao Caves) are found in CNKI, especially in its modules for Archaeology, Religion, Tourism, and Fine Arts.

This database provides access to humanities publications from both Taiwan and Mainland China, and contains numerous materials on the Mogao Caves.

This on-line version of BAS contains more than one million records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to Asian studies and indexes numerous publications on the Mogao caves.

Over 72,000 images from Dunhuang are included in ARTstor's Mellon International Dunhuang archive, https://library-artstor-org.ezproxy.rice.edu/#/category/1034280505

Citations and full-text access to thousands of doctoral dissertations -- a fruitful source of research on the Mogao caves, some of which never became available as a book.

This successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and includes scholarly literature treating global art since 1945. Visual arts in all media are covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history.

Articles, images, conference papers and proceedings, trade publications, and other scholarly writing in art, architecture, and related disciplines.

Bibliographic database with citations from volumes 1-32 (1929-1984) of the printed Art Index, citing articles from international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum publications, and art reproductions that appear in these periodicals.

Will provide citations for Western-language articles.