Bioengineering: Patents
A guide to Bioengineering resources in Fondren Library
More Information
See the Patent Information for Rice University Researchers and Classes LibGuide for additional information.
Guides
COVID-19 update -- Fondren Library is closed to all visitors until further notice. If you have question related to patent and trademark, please send an email to: govhelp@rice.edu
More information about searching and background information about the patent process is available from the:
- Patente, Marcas Registradas, y Derechos de Autor Información en EspañolPatent, Trademark and Copyright information in Spanish.
Databases with Patents
Conduct a prior art search for all material that has bearing on the novelty of the invention including newspapers, journal articles, product catalogs, U.S. and foreign patents, and subscription databases such as those listed below.
- DPD: DNA Patent Database This link opens in a new windowFull text of DNA-based patents and patent applications available for free to the public.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowUnder Legal Research scroll to Patents to search for U.S. patents back to 1971.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyWritten by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
- Medline (ISI Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowContains over 16,950,000 records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine.
- NTIS.Gov (National Technical Information Service) This link opens in a new windowBilled as the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research (1964+) sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowReaxys is a web-based resource that combines the content of CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database and offers reaction searching, synthesis, and visualization, as well as an extensive repository of experimentally validated data including structures, reactions and physical properties drawn from selected source publications of relevance to synthetic chemists.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowIndexes the literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents, substance data, chemical reactions, chemical regulatory data, and chemical suppliers. (1907- ) Registration required. Accounts available for Rice University faculty, students and staff. Apply for Scifinder account.
To learn more about the SciFinder-n platform, view the Quick Start guide. - Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages and U.S. and international patents. Database includes article citations from 1996, and permits citation tracking, and (both) saving searches and email or RSS alerts of new material. The system will export records into major citation managers and prepare a bibliography according to major formats. (1966- )
Searching Sequences
- Publication Site for Issued and Published Sequences (PSIPS) from the USPTO This link opens in a new window
International Search Tools
- EspacenetThe European Patent Office's (EPO) network of patent databases. Includes Japanese patents, most with English abstracts. Recently extended coverage to Latin American countries (Chile, Ecuador, Nicaragua, and Panama) and added legal status data for Russian, Polish and Chinese patents. Creates groups of all international patents issued for a single invention. In the Espacenet brochure see also the discussion about advanced search techniques.
- Espacenet - LimitationsShows both search limitations and limitations applying to results.
- Espacenet - Non-patent literature (NPL) (XP Documents)If the non-patent literature is an article from a subscription-based journal, you will need to find the article in a library that subscribes to the journal.
- Patent ScopeWorld Intellectual Property (WIPO) international patent search database which contains the text of description and claims for applications published in English, French, German, Spanish, Russian, and Japanese. It now includes over 73 million patent documents: PCT and national/regional collections, AI-based developed-in translation tool, chemical structure search and CLIR that finds synonyms search terms and translates everything into 13 languages, granting access to documents published in languages that the user don’t know.
Full listing of countries included is available at https://patentscope.wipo.int/search/en/help/data_coverage.jsf. - The LensIntegrates patents with scholarly and technical literature and regulatory and business data. Has a patent citation feature. Contains patents from all over the world.
- Directory of Intellectual Property OfficesAlphabetical list of IP Offices by country provided by WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization).
- British Library Patent ResourcesIncludes how to find early British patents and how to search for patents and trade marks.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University