Chemical Engineering: Reference Sources
Print Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemical Analysis
QD131 .E5 - Reference Collection
Provides authoritative sources of information on all aspects of chemical processing and design.
Encyclopedia of Separation Science
TP156 .S45 E63 2000 - Reference Collection
Provides expert overviews of separation techniques such as flotation, distillation, and crystallization. Each article contains a selected bibliography of key books, review articles, and important research papers.
Handbook of Chemical Engineering Calculations
TP149 .H285 2004 - Fondren General Stacks
Provides calculations unique to chemical engineering, as well as information on basic mathematics and engineering.
Merck Index : An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals
Call Number: RS51 .M4 2006 - Reserve Desk
Gives full descriptions of chemicals and drugs that include variant names, trademarks, properties, formulas, and uses.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook
TP151 .P45 1997 - Reference Collection
Provides information on all aspects of chemical engineering, including economic and environmental aspects.
Riegel's Handbook of Industrial Chemistry
TP145 .R54 2003 - Fondren General Stacks
Covers all areas of the chemical process industry from synthetic organic chemicals to agro-chemicals to materials.
Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
TP9 .I53 1998 - Reference Collection
Gives comprehensive and authoritative information on industrial chemistry. Divided into two parts, Part A provides information on chemicals, product groups, areas of application, processes and technological concepts, Part B covers specific topics such as environmental protection and plant safety.
Online Reference Sources
-
Chemical Engineer's Resource PageProvides online chemical engineering information.
-
Taylor & Francis Ebooks This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis Ebooks is a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks. Ebook collections such as ENGnetBASE and CRCnetBASE are subsets of this collection.
-
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology This link opens in a new windowThis classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties, it is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering.
-
IUPAC-NIST Solubility DatabaseRepresents over 67,500 solubility measurements, compiled from 18 volumes of the IUPAC Solubility Data Series. There are about 1800 chemical substances in the database and 5200 systems, of which 473 have been critically evaluated. The database has over 1800 references.
-
Landolt-Börnstein substance - property indexLists all substances and their properties which are reported on in the indexed Landolt-Börnstein volumes. In total, 160 000 organic and inorganic compounds are described by names, molecular structures, chemical abstract numbers and other identifiers. Properties are directly linked to the full documents at Springerlink.
-
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)Oklahoma State University EHS website lists links to MSDS information available on the internet. Provides the proper procedures for handling or working with specific chemicals. Includes physical data, toxicity, health effects, first aid, reactivity, storage, disposal, protective equipment, and spill/leak procedures.
-
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)Provides full descriptive summaries of more than 750,000 documents and other materials NTIS has received from U.S. Government agencies. It offers unparalleled bibliographic coverage of U.S. government and worldwide government-sponsored research. (1990- )
-
NIST Chemistry Web BookProvides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by the National Institute for Standards and Technology under the Standard Reference Data Program. Another way to access this data is through the NIST Data Gateway. For a periodic table and data on the elements see the NIST Physics Laboratory Physical Reference Data.
-
NIST Physics Laboratory Physical Reference DataConsult this database for a periodic table and data on the elements.
-
What Every Chemist Should Know About PatentsA resource from the American Chemical Society's Committee on Patents and Related Matters (2002) Provides the chemical engineer with basic information about patents.
-
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyWritten by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
Online Dictionaries
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Call Number: QD5 .C5 2001 - Reference Collection
Gives definitions of chemical engineering terms and provides descriptions of chemicals, raw materials, processes, equipment, and trademarked products.