Asian Studies: Reference works
Asian Reference Alcove
Located in the Reference section on the first floor of the Fondren Library, the Asian Reference Alcove contains numerous print resources pertaining to Asian studies.
Japanese calligraphy
Selected Reference Works
- Asian History - Oxford Research Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowLearn about Asian history in its broadest sense from prehistory to the present and into the future (Oxford University Press).
Asian American Encyclopedia. Franklin Ng. Marshall Cavendish: 1995.
Call Number: E184.O6 A827 REFERENCE
Atlas of India. S. Muthiah. Oxford University: 1990.
Call Number: G2280 .A84 REF-ATLAS
Cambridge Encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, and the Maldives. Francis Robinson. Cambridge University: 1989.
Call Number: DS334.9 .C36 REFERENCE
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan. Richard Bowring, Peter Kornicki. Cambridge University Press: 1993.
Call Number: DS805 .C36 ASIAN REF
Chinese History: a manual. Rev. ed. Endymion Wilkinson. Harvard University Asia Center: 2000.
Call Number: DS735 .W695 REFERENCE
Dictionary of Asian Mythology. David Leeming. Oxford University Press: 2001.
Call Number: BL1005 .L46 2001 STACKS
Encyclopaedia of Indian Culture. R.N. Saletore. Humanities Press: 1981-1985.
Call Number: DS423 .S218 REFERENCE
Encyclopedia Japonica/ Dai Nihon hyakka jiten. 2 ed. 1972.
Call Number: AE35.2 .E53 STACKS
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture. Sandra Buckley. Routledge: 2002.
Call Number: DS822.5 .E516 ASIAN REF
Encyclopedia of World Cultures. David Levinson. G.K. Hall: 1991-1996.
Call Number: GN307 .E53 REFERENCE
v.1 North America; v.2 Oceania; v.3 South Asia; v.4 Europe (Central, Western, and Southeastern Europe); v.5 East and Southeast Asia; v.6 Russia and Eurasia, China; v.7 South America; v.8 Middle America and the Caribbean; v.9 Africa and the Middle East; v.10 Indexes
Historic World Leaders. Anne Commire. Gale: 1994.
Call Number: CT104 .H57 REFERENCE
v.1 Africa, Middle East, Asia, Pacific; v.2-3 Europe; v.4-5 North & South America
Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Korea. Andrew C. Nahm. Scarecrow Press: 1993.
Call Number: DS909 .N34 ASIAN REF
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan. Kodansha: 1983.
Call Number: DS805 .K633 ASIAN REF
Modern Japanese Novelists: a biographical dictionary. John Lewell. Kodansha International: 1993.
Call Number: PL747.55 .L48 ASIAN REF
Princeton Companion to Classical Japanese Literature. Earl Miner, Hiroko Odagiri, and Robert E. Morrell. Princeton University Press: 1985.
Call Number: PL726.1 .M495 ASIAN REF
Who Was Who in the People's Republic of China. Wolfgang Bartke. K.G. Saur: 1997.
Call Number: DS778 .A1 B32 REFERENCE
Series in History
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowThis series brings together "over 300 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts (Cambridge University Press)." Rice University owns access to this series through 2023.
Country Studies
- Country Watch: Website of the World (CountryWatch) This link opens in a new windowContains detailed textual, data and graphic information for countries and regions. Topics include: country overviews, political history and conditions, economic status, investment overviews, social background, and environmental situation and issues.
- CIA's World Factbook This link opens in a new windowFrom the Central Intelligence Agency, this site provides country information organized by country, region, or topic. Topics include communications, defense, economy, flag and map, geography, government, people and transportation.
- Library of Congress Country StudiesPresents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University