LibGuides: Asian Studies: Newspapers

Online Newspapers

Chinese Newspapers Collection (historical) This link opens in a new window
This collection of historical newspapers provides searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events (ProQuest).
Yomidas Rekishikan This link opens in a new window
This database features Japanese newspaper articles from 1874, along with photos, illustrations and diagrams that accompanied the news stories, including comics and advertising. English editions are included. Note: this is a cluster subscription that Fondren shares with 4 other institutions allowing only 3 users at one time.
Korea Times (the) - Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time (ProQuest).
Japan Chronicle Online This link opens in a new window
"The English-language Japan Chronicle Weekly is the newspaper of record for Japan’s engagement with modernity and its emergence, through war, political and social upheaval and seismic social change in East Asia, onto the world stage in the first half of the twentieth century (Brill)."
North China Herald Online This link opens in a new window
"The English-language North China Herald is the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to 1940s. During this so-called ‘treaty century’ (1842-1943) the Western Powers established a strong presence in China through their protected enclaves in major cities (Brill)."
Shen Bao Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Shen Bao (also transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao), the influential newspaper, is available in its entirety -- all 256,000 issues, over 2 million articles, published from 1872 to 1949 -- covering the Chinese period between the last imperial dynasty through the Republican era.
Shen Bao (also transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao), the influential newspaper, is available in its entirety -- all 256,000 issues, over 2 million articles, published from 1872 to 1949 -- covering the Chinese period between the last imperial dynasty through the Republican era.
Current Digest of the Chinese Press This link opens in a new window
Each week, The Current Digest of the Chinese Press presents the reader with a digestible collection of Chinese press materials, all in English. Selected articles cover a wide variety of topics, such as politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more.
The Current Digest’s mission is to provide the reader with a comprehensive, broad picture of the news published in China, be it domestic, international or related to other states of the Asia Pacific region. The Current Digest of the Chinese Press offers all readers, regardless of Chinese language ability, a much clearer and more robust view of the current Chinese reality and is a great addition to any English-language resource collection.