"The study of the ancient world is a cornerstone of Western scholarship. It possesses a long history with a rich, well-established critical literature, and it is also a highly active field, which constantly produces new discoveries, interpretations, and theories... Oxford Bibliographies in Classics provides students and scholars with a reliable and authoritative solution to the problem of information overload in all media (Oxford University Press)."
This database inventorises all historiographical works of Late Antiquity (300 until 800 AD) in Latin, Greek, Syriac, Armenian, Georgian, Arabic, Coptic and, to a lesser extent, Hebrew, Aramaic and Persian
This series brings together "over 300 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts (Cambridge University Press)." Rice University owns access to this series through 2023.
Brill’s New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
Print: REFERENCE DE5 .N4813 2002
Handbook to Life in Ancient Greece DG77 .A35 1993
Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome DG77 .A35 1993
Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization REFERENCE DE5 .O92 1998
Oxford History of the Classical World DE 59 .O94 1986
Oxford History of Greece and the Hellenic World DF214 .O94 2001
Oxford History of the Roman World DG231 .O94 2001
Cambridge Ancient History LEVIN D57 .C13 1980
The Oxford classical dictionary REFERENCE DE5 .O9 2003
Who's Who in the Classical World.(Simon Hornblower and Tony Spawforth)
DE7 .W48 2000 REFERENCE
"BRILL’S NEW PAULY is the English edition of the authoritative DER NEUE PAULY, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the NEW PAULY the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world (Brill)."
Accounts of the lives of many classical authors and character entries and plot summaries for their works. General entries trace the development of literary forms such as comedy and tragedy. There is also wide coverage of the historical, political, social, and artistic background.
History of Western thought and culture. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others.
"The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG®) is a Special Research Program at the University of California, Irvine... The project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453 (UCI)." NOTE: You must create an account before you can access TLG.