Robert Eitner was a nineteenth-century musicologist who compiled an 11-volume series listing the locations of music manuscripts and early printed editions in 200 libraries throughout Europe, for composers born before 1780. The events of World Wars I and II makes much of Eitner's work out of date. RISM, the International Inventory of Musical Sources, is an ongoing series meant to document the current locations of these primary source materials.
Eitner, Robert. Biographisch-bibliographisches Quellen-Lexikon der Musiker und Musikgelehrten der christlichen Zeitrechnung bis zur Mitte des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts (Leipzig, 1900–04, 2/1959) [incl. suppl.Miscellanea musicae bio-bibliographica] Music Ref ML105 .E4 1959 v.1-11
RISM Series A/I, Music Ref ML113 .I6 S. A/I: Einzeldrucke vor 1800 (Kassel, 1971–81; corrections, 1986–99).
RISM Series B, Music Ref ML113 .I6 S. B: Individual volumes of series B that pertain to printed editions cover the following topics so far (see complete up-to-date list in the New Grove “RISM” article):
Hebrew Writings Concerning Music
Das Deutsche Kirchenlied
Recueils imprimes: XVIIIe siecle.
Most of Fondren's microform collection is housed at the Library Service Center and can be paged and delivered to the Fondren Circulation Desk. Some microforms are kept in the library's Government Publications department. Check our online catalog to determine the location of the collection you want to see.
Musickdrucke der Staats- und Stadtbibliothek Augsburg, 1488-1630, H. Fischer, ML138 .A92 S82 2000
Women Composers’ Collection,
Wilhelm Fürtwangler’s Annotated Conducting Scores, IDC, 1999, M1000 .F87 v. 1-10
French Opera Scores: Collection of the Théâtre français de la Haye, IDC, M1500 .T47 1983
History of Music, 1400-1800, ML136 .H37 H57
Microfilm reproductions of early printed music and music treatises in the Houghton and Eda Kuhn Loeb Music Libraries,
Music periodicals, 1722-1840, from the Musikbibliothek der Stadt
American Periodical Series.
Pt. 1 18th century, AP2 .A2 A81
Pt. 2 1800-1850, AP2 .A38
Pt. 3 1850-1900, AP2 .A381
Issues of American periodicals published during the above time periods. All subject areas are covered. Includes many early music periodicals. Guide and index at Gov-Micro AP2 .A38, and in Reference at Ref Z6951 .H65. A searchable online index is also available (off campus access for Rice users only).