LibGuides: American History: Archival Materials

Archival Materials

America's Historical Imprints
Searchable scans of more than 100,000 early American books, pamphlets, and other printed material.

Fondren has access to the following collections:
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.
ArchiveGrid
Provides centralized access for searching and retrieval of archival finding aids that have been encoded using XML and the standard for Encoded Archival Description (EAD) from archives in the United States, Canada, Australia, and elsewhere around the world.
Colonial America
Correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies and the United States from 1606-1822, as collected by the National Archives, UK.
Fondren owns access to the following modules:
- Module I: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries
- Module II: Towards Revolution
- Module III: The American Revolution
- Module IV: Legislation and Politics in the Colonies
- Module V: Growth, Trade and Development
Colonial State Papers
Papers related to governmental and other activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies of Great Britain, originally presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade between 1574-1757.
Congressional by ProQuest
Full-text access to historical (1789- ) and current U.S. Congressional publications, federal bills and laws, and information about members of Congress and Congressional committees.
Early American Imprints: Series I (Evans)
Collection based on Charles Evans’ American Bibliography that contains text and images from books, broadside, pamphlets, and other rare materials printed in early American history.
See America's Historical Imprints for both Early American Imprints series - Evans, 1639-1800, and Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.
Early English Books Online-- Text Creation Partnership (EEBO-TCP)
Searchable and downloadable handmade transcriptions of thousands of texts from the Early English Books Online database.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (1701-1800 - ECCO)
Based on The English Short Title Catalogue, this collection includes the holdings of the British Library as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private, and public libraries worldwide. It contains a corpus of books, pamphlets, and broadsides in all subjects from 1701-1800.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters
Primary source documents from European settlers in North America, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and Central America, searchable by theme, and essays and video interviews from experts in the field.
Gale Primary Sources
Tool allowing users to search all of the Gale Primary Sources modules available through Fondren in one place.
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online
Includes more that 4,700 books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. Materials span four centuries (1543-1945) and 15 languages.
Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands: Papers of Panton/Leslie & Company
Legal, business, and government papers from the British trading firm Panton, Leslie & Company documenting trade with Native Americans in Florida in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Documents, manuscripts, artwork, books, photographs, newspapers, travel journals, maps, and other primary sources from indigenous people in North America, the Philippines, and Central and South America, as well as essays providing historical and cultural context.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954
Records, photographs, personal papers, manuscripts, and other documents tracking the development of Jewish communities in the United States. Includes a chronology, interactive maps, essays by leading scholars, a selection of American Jewish Year Book articles, a visual resources gallery, biographies and links to other useful websites.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Scans of primary source documents curated by the Library of Congress, including letters, musical scores, archives of web pages, photographs, and other documents and media.
Migration to New Worlds
Oral histories, immigration records, diaries, travel journals, government documents, maps, objects, and other printed material tracking immigration from Europe and Asia to the Americas, Australia, and New Zealand.
Fondren owns access to the following modules:

- Module I: The Century of Immigration
- Module II: The Modern Era
Papers of George Washington Digital Edition
Diaries and personal papers from George and Martha Washington, digitized by the University of Virginia Press.

The Papers of George Washington Digital Edition combines the complete Diaries (11 March 1748–13 December 1799) and five additional series: Colonial Series (7 July 1748–15 June 1775), Revolutionary War Series (16 June 1775–30 April 1778), Confederation Series (1 January 1784–23 September 1788), Presidential Series (24 September 1788–31 May 1793), Retirement Series (4 March 1797–13 December 1799).
Papers of Thomas Jefferson Digital Edition
Personal papers from Thomas Jefferson's collection, with illustrations, linked cross-references and indexes.
People of the Founding Era
Biographical information on over 25,000 people born between 1713 (the end of Queen Anne's War) and 1815 (the end of the Napoleonic War), drawn from personal papers and letters from the Founding Fathers and other important figures from early American history.
Sabin Americana (1500-1926)
Works about the Americas from the 16th through early 20th centuries, including books, pamphlets, and serials. Collection is based on Joseph Sabin's bibliography Sabin Americana.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Federal and state statutes and cases dealing with slavery, as well as books, pamphlets, transcripts of congressional debates, commentary, and essays.
Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries
Company records; business and personal correspondence, documents pertaining to the purchase, hire, medical care, and provisioning of slave laborers; descriptions of production processes; and journals recounting costs and income, covering the use of slavery in industry.
Virginia Company Archives
Business records and personal papers from the collection of Nicholas Ferrar and others in the Virginia Company of London, covering the early colonial period in Virginia from the 17th century.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
information on authors, primary documents, books, images, essays, book and website reviews and teaching tools on the history of social movements in the United States and women's roles in them, as well as interpretive and contextual essays.
Fondren's access includes the Series II update, the 2021 edition and the 2022 edition.

Adam Matthew AM Explorer
Search tool for all AM products. A full list of the AM products owned by Fondren can be seen here.
Advertising America: J. Walter Thompson Archive
Archival documents from large advertising firm J. Walter Thompson, including publications, reports, meeting minutes, briefs, research, newsletters, artwork, and advertisements. Includes information on large brands, such as Scott Paper Company, Kraft, and Kellogg's.
America's Historical Imprints
Searchable scans of more than 100,000 early American books, pamphlets, and other printed material.

Fondren has access to the following collections:
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Letters, diaries, memoirs, and other primary documents from Union, Confederate, and international sources on the American Civil War.
American Fur Company: America's First Business Monopoly
Letters and business records from the American Fur Company, dating from 1831 - 1849.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Documents, manuscripts, artwork, books, photographs, newspapers, travel journals, maps, and other primary sources from indigenous people in North America, the Philippines, and Central and South America, as well as essays providing historical and cultural context.
American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971
Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and from Native American tribal Major Council Meetings, as well as records of interactions between white settlers, the U.S. government, and Native American tribes.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Scans of primary source documents curated by the Library of Congress, including letters, musical scores, archives of web pages, photographs, and other documents and media.
American Radicalism
The Radicalism Collection includes books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera covering a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, economic, and cultural issues and movements in the United States and throughout the world. The emphasis is on materials produced by radical groups - both left and right.
American West
Manuscripts, maps, ephemera, and other printed materials chronicling the development and settlement of the American West.
ArchiveGrid
Provides centralized access for searching and retrieval of archival finding aids that have been encoded using XML and the standard for Encoded Archival Description (EAD) from archives in the United States, Canada, Australia, and elsewhere around the world.
Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865
Articles, letters, manuscripts, literature, and other primary sources by Black American abolitionists in the early and mid-nineteenth century.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Primary source documents related to African American civil rights activism and freedom movements from the eighteenth century onward, representing content from multiple ProQuest databases.
Colonial America
Correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies and the United States from 1606-1822, as collected by the National Archives, UK.
Fondren owns access to the following modules:
- Module I: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries
- Module II: Towards Revolution
- Module III: The American Revolution
- Module IV: Legislation and Politics in the Colonies
- Module V: Growth, Trade and Development
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama
Newspapers published in the South during the American Civil War, documenting news, opinions, and culture.
Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961
Correspondence, reports, dispatches, treaties, and other documents related to Canada, the United States, and English-speaking areas of the Caribbean, produced by the British government from 1824-1961.
Cultural Studies
Articles, monographs, manuscripts, and other archival documents on art, film, Hollywood, folklore, literature, music, and other areas in cultural studies.
Fondren has access to the following collections:
- American Art-Union, 1839-1851: The Rise of American Art Literacy
- D.W. Griffith's Birth of a Nation
- FBI File: Hollywood and J. Edgar Hoover: Communists in the Motion Picture Industry
- FBI File: Hollywood and J. Edgar Hoover: Investigations of Actors and Directors
- German Folklore and Popular Culture: Das Kloster. Scheible
- Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
- Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers' Project
- Robert Winslow Gordon and American Folk Music
- Society, Culture & Politics in Canada: Canadiana Pamphlets from McMaster University, 1818-1929
- The Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South
- Through the Camera Lens: The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era, 1907-1927
Electing the President: Proceedings of the Democratic National Convention, 1832-1988
Proceedings from the Democratic National Conventions from 1832-1988. Content includes speeches, debates, votes, and party platforms.
Electing the President: Proceedings of the Republican National Conventions, 1856-1988
Proceedings from the Republican National Conventions from 1856-1988. Includes speeches, debates, votes, party platforms, and names of convention delegates and alternates.
Everyday Life & Women in America
Fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues and the everyday life of both women and men.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters
Primary source documents from European settlers in North America, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and Central America, searchable by theme, and essays and video interviews from experts in the field.
Gale Primary Sources
Tool allowing users to search all of the Gale Primary Sources modules available through Fondren in one place.
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online
Includes more that 4,700 books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. Materials span four centuries (1543-1945) and 15 languages.
Gilded Age and Progressive Era (the)
Business, legal, and personal papers from the United States from 1870-1920, covering the period after the Civil War, the Gilded Age and the Progressive Era.
History Vault
Primary sources, including images, books, government documents, legal documents, letters, maps, statistics, and more, on U.S. history.
Rice University owns access to the following modules:
- Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle (Federal Government Records - BF1 & BF4, Organizational Records and Personal Papers - Parts 1 & 2, BF 2 & 3)
- Southern Life and Slavery (Plantation Records Parts 1 & 2, Slavery and the Law).
Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands: Papers of Panton/Leslie & Company
Legal, business, and government papers from the British trading firm Panton, Leslie & Company documenting trade with Native Americans in Florida in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954
Records, photographs, personal papers, manuscripts, and other documents tracking the development of Jewish communities in the United States. Includes a chronology, interactive maps, essays by leading scholars, a selection of American Jewish Year Book articles, a visual resources gallery, biographies and links to other useful websites.
New York Academy of Sciences (the)
Digital version of the archive of the New York Academy of Sciences, including maps, papers, and photographs from the academy's 200-year history.
Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880
Digitized monographs detailing travel in the American west and southwest in the nineteenth century.
Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
Printed medical materials for laypeople in the nineteenth century, including pamphlets, books, trade cards, and advertisements.
Sabin Americana (1500-1926)
Works about the Americas from the 16th through early 20th centuries, including books, pamphlets, and serials. Collection is based on Joseph Sabin's bibliography Sabin Americana.
Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in 19th Century
Nineteenth-century primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade, including records and letters.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Federal and state statutes and cases dealing with slavery, as well as books, pamphlets, transcripts of congressional debates, commentary, and essays.
Southern Women and their Families in the 19th & 20th Century
Letters written by women in the southern United States in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, with a focus on letters written during the Civil War.
Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries
Company records; business and personal correspondence, documents pertaining to the purchase, hire, medical care, and provisioning of slave laborers; descriptions of production processes; and journals recounting costs and income, covering the use of slavery in industry.
Trade Catalogues and the American Home, 1850-1950
Trade catalogs and marketing materials for companies in the United States from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, as well as essays providing historical context.
Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
Award-winning University of Virginia research project containing a narrative of two communities in Pennsylvania and Virginia in during the Civil War and an electronic archive of the sources on which the narrative is based.
War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824
Letters received by the War Department regarding the United States' relationships with Native Americans, from 1789 until the establishment of the Bureau of Indian Affairs in 1824.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
information on authors, primary documents, books, images, essays, book and website reviews and teaching tools on the history of social movements in the United States and women's roles in them, as well as interpretive and contextual essays.
Fondren's access includes the Series II update, the 2021 edition and the 2022 edition.

Adam Matthew AM Explorer
Search tool for all AM products. A full list of the AM products owned by Fondren can be seen here.
Advertising America: J. Walter Thompson Archive
Archival documents from large advertising firm J. Walter Thompson, including publications, reports, meeting minutes, briefs, research, newsletters, artwork, and advertisements. Includes information on large brands, such as Scott Paper Company, Kraft, and Kellogg's.
America in World War Two
Oral histories, letters, diaries, military records, photographs, and other artifacts from American military personnel and civilians during World War II.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Declassified FBI files on the American Indian Movement (AIM), a Native American protest movement founded in the 1960s.
American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971
Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and from Native American tribal Major Council Meetings, as well as records of interactions between white settlers, the U.S. government, and Native American tribes.
American Radicalism
The Radicalism Collection includes books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera covering a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, economic, and cultural issues and movements in the United States and throughout the world. The emphasis is on materials produced by radical groups - both left and right.
American West
Manuscripts, maps, ephemera, and other printed materials chronicling the development and settlement of the American West.
ArchiveGrid
Provides centralized access for searching and retrieval of archival finding aids that have been encoded using XML and the standard for Encoded Archival Description (EAD) from archives in the United States, Canada, Australia, and elsewhere around the world.
Archives Unbound
Searchable digital collections of historical documents in multiple disciplines in the humanities. Includes primary source material, photographs, government documents, and more.
Behind the Scenes in the Civil Rights Movement
Primary source documents from the Civil Rights Movement in the United States, from the Black, Latine, Indigenous, Asian American, and Pacific Islander communities.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Primary source documents related to African American civil rights activism and freedom movements from the eighteenth century onward, representing content from multiple ProQuest databases.
Carter Administration and Foreign Affairs
Memos, letters, and other documentation from the Carter administration and earlier (1972-1981) pertaining to foreign policy.
Cold War: Voices Of Confrontation And Conciliation
Transcripts of oral interviews with major figures from the Cold War.
Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961
Correspondence, reports, dispatches, treaties, and other documents related to Canada, the United States, and English-speaking areas of the Caribbean, produced by the British government from 1824-1961.
Congressional by ProQuest
Full-text access to historical (1789- ) and current U.S. Congressional publications, federal bills and laws, and information about members of Congress and Congressional committees.
Cultural Studies
Articles, monographs, manuscripts, and other archival documents on art, film, Hollywood, folklore, literature, music, and other areas in cultural studies.
Fondren has access to the following collections:
- American Art-Union, 1839-1851: The Rise of American Art Literacy
- D.W. Griffith's Birth of a Nation
- FBI File: Hollywood and J. Edgar Hoover: Communists in the Motion Picture Industry
- FBI File: Hollywood and J. Edgar Hoover: Investigations of Actors and Directors
- German Folklore and Popular Culture: Das Kloster. Scheible
- Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
- Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers' Project
- Robert Winslow Gordon and American Folk Music
- Society, Culture & Politics in Canada: Canadiana Pamphlets from McMaster University, 1818-1929
- The Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South
- Through the Camera Lens: The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era, 1907-1927
Development Of Environmental Health Policy: Pope A. Lawrence Papers 1924-1983
Papers, correspondence, reports, photographs, maps, and other publications associated with Pope A. Lawrence, an environmental specialist with the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare and the Public Health Service in the mid-twentieth century.
Digital National Security Archive
Declassified U.S. federal documents that led to policy decisions.
Electing the President: Proceedings of the Democratic National Convention, 1832-1988
Proceedings from the Democratic National Conventions from 1832-1988. Content includes speeches, debates, votes, and party platforms.
Electing the President: Proceedings of the Republican National Conventions, 1856-1988
Proceedings from the Republican National Conventions from 1856-1988. Includes speeches, debates, votes, party platforms, and names of convention delegates and alternates.
Everyday Life & Women in America
Fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues and the everyday life of both women and men.
FBI File: Alger Hiss/Whittaker Chambers
FBI archival documentation on the Red Scare and Communism during the early Cold War, including private papers and interview transcripts.
FBI File: House Committee on Un-American Activities (HUAC)
Archival documents tracing the relationship between the House Committee on Un-American Activities and the FBI in the mid-twentieth century, through World War II and the early Cold War.
FBI File: Watergate
FBI reports and evidence on the Watergate scandal in the 1970s, and data gathered on the 1972 presidential campaigns.
Final Accountability Rosters of Japanese-American Relocation Centers, 1944-1946
Demographic information on Japanese Americans moved into relocation centers during World War II.
Ford Administration and Foreign Affairs
Documents from the Gerald Ford administration (1974-1977) on foreign affairs, including files on east Asian nations and correspondence with foreign leaders.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters
Primary source documents from European settlers in North America, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and Central America, searchable by theme, and essays and video interviews from experts in the field.
Gale Primary Sources
Tool allowing users to search all of the Gale Primary Sources modules available through Fondren in one place.
George H. W. Bush and Foreign Affairs: Fall of the Berlin Wall and the Reunification of Germany
Documents from the George H.W. Bush Presidential Library chronicling the reunification of Germany and the events leading up to and following it, as well as their effects on U.S.-German relations in the 1980s and early 1990s.
"Documents include 1999-0393-F: Records of Memcons and Telcons between President Bush and Helmut Kohl concerning the Fall of the Berlin Wall and the Reunification of Germany; and FOIA 2001-1166-F: Records on the Fall of the Berlin Wall and German Unification (Gale)."
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online
Includes more that 4,700 books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. Materials span four centuries (1543-1945) and 15 languages.
Gilded Age and Progressive Era (the)
Business, legal, and personal papers from the United States from 1870-1920, covering the period after the Civil War, the Gilded Age and the Progressive Era.
History Vault
Primary sources, including images, books, government documents, legal documents, letters, maps, statistics, and more, on U.S. history.
Rice University owns access to the following modules:
- Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle (Federal Government Records - BF1 & BF4, Organizational Records and Personal Papers - Parts 1 & 2, BF 2 & 3)
- Southern Life and Slavery (Plantation Records Parts 1 & 2, Slavery and the Law).
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Documents, manuscripts, artwork, books, photographs, newspapers, travel journals, maps, and other primary sources from indigenous people in North America, the Philippines, and Central and South America, as well as essays providing historical and cultural context.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives On Day-To-Day Life
Newspapers published in relocation and internment camps during World War II, written by Japanese-Americans about community concerns and everyday life.
Japanese American Internment: Records of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library Digital Archive
Documents held by the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library on the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II, with images and papers covering the years 1933-1988.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954
Records, photographs, personal papers, manuscripts, and other documents tracking the development of Jewish communities in the United States. Includes a chronology, interactive maps, essays by leading scholars, a selection of American Jewish Year Book articles, a visual resources gallery, biographies and links to other useful websites.
JFK’s Foreign Affairs and International Crises, 1961-1963
National security files and other papers from the John F. Kennedy administration, with information and Kennedy's opinions on foreign affairs, international events, and organizations like NATO.
Fondren has access to the following subcollections:

- JFK and Foreign Affairs, Part 1: National Security Files, Section 1: Subject Files
- JFK and Foreign Affairs, Part 1: National Security Files, Section 2: Regional Security File
- JFK and Foreign Affairs, Part 1: National Security Files, Section 3: Departments & Agencies File
Johnson Administration and Foreign Affairs
Policies, memos, recommendations, and other documents from the Lyndon Johnson administration, especially regarding the Vietnam War.
Fondren has access to the following subcollections:
- Part 0001: White House Central Files, Section 0001: Foreign Affairs Subject Files
- Part 0001: White House Central Files, Section 0002: National Defense Subject File - The Vietnam War
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Scans of primary source documents curated by the Library of Congress, including letters, musical scores, archives of web pages, photographs, and other documents and media.
Meriam Report on Indian Administration and the Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the US
Full text of the report The Problem of Indian Administration, better known as the Meriam Report, and the report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans.
New York Academy of Sciences (the)
Digital version of the archive of the New York Academy of Sciences, including maps, papers, and photographs from the academy's 200-year history.
Nixon Administration and Foreign Affairs
Files created during the Nixon administration by the White House and the National Security Council, covering foreign affairs, especially in China, Vietnam, and the Soviet Union.
Nixon Years, 1969-1974 (the)
Files collected by the National Archives, Kew (UK) related to the Nixon administration, covering foreign and domestic policy. Also includes files from the British Embassy and consular staff on subjects of interest to the United Kingdom.
Papers of the Nixon Administration: The President’s Confidential and Subject Special Files, 1969-1974
Previously classified documents from the Nixon administration, covering domestic policy, foreign affairs, and the Watergate scandal.
Personal Justice Denied: Public Hearings of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment, 1981
Transcripts of public hearings and testimonies from the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment, on the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II.
Political Extremism & Radicalism
Primary sources on extremist movements in North America, Europe, Australia, Russia, and other nations, covering the twentieth and early twenty-first centuries.
Fondren Library owns access to:
- Part 1: Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the US, Europe and Australia in the Twentieth Century
- Part 2: Far-right in America
- Part III: Global Communist and Socialist Movements
Race Relations in America
Speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Fisk University's Race Relations Department’s staff and Institute participants from 1943-1970.
Sabin Americana (1500-1926)
Works about the Americas from the 16th through early 20th centuries, including books, pamphlets, and serials. Collection is based on Joseph Sabin's bibliography Sabin Americana.
Southern Women and their Families in the 19th & 20th Century
Letters written by women in the southern United States in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, with a focus on letters written during the Civil War.
Trade Catalogues and the American Home, 1850-1950
Trade catalogs and marketing materials for companies in the United States from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, as well as essays providing historical context.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
U.S. government documents from presidential libraries, CIA, FBI and other government agencies from the 20th and 21st centuries.
Fondren Library owns access to the 2017 through 2024 online annual supplements.
War on Poverty, Texas
Documents from the Lyndon Johnson administration containing statistics and other historical data on poverty and poor communities in Texas during the 1960s.
Wilson Center Digital Archive
Declassified documents from the U.S. government and international governments on international relations and diplomacy, with a particular focus on the Cold War, Korea, and nuclear proliferation.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
information on authors, primary documents, books, images, essays, book and website reviews and teaching tools on the history of social movements in the United States and women's roles in them, as well as interpretive and contextual essays.
Fondren's access includes the Series II update, the 2021 edition and the 2022 edition.

Advertising America: J. Walter Thompson Archive
Archival documents from large advertising firm J. Walter Thompson, including publications, reports, meeting minutes, briefs, research, newsletters, artwork, and advertisements. Includes information on large brands, such as Scott Paper Company, Kraft, and Kellogg's.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Scans of primary source documents curated by the Library of Congress, including letters, musical scores, archives of web pages, photographs, and other documents and media.
ArchiveGrid
Provides centralized access for searching and retrieval of archival finding aids that have been encoded using XML and the standard for Encoded Archival Description (EAD) from archives in the United States, Canada, Australia, and elsewhere around the world.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Primary source documents related to African American civil rights activism and freedom movements from the eighteenth century onward, representing content from multiple ProQuest databases.
Digital National Security Archive
Declassified U.S. federal documents that led to policy decisions.
Gale Primary Sources
Tool allowing users to search all of the Gale Primary Sources modules available through Fondren in one place.
New York Academy of Sciences (the)
Digital version of the archive of the New York Academy of Sciences, including maps, papers, and photographs from the academy's 200-year history.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
U.S. government documents from presidential libraries, CIA, FBI and other government agencies from the 20th and 21st centuries.
Fondren Library owns access to the 2017 through 2024 online annual supplements.
Congressional by ProQuest
Full-text access to historical (1789- ) and current U.S. Congressional publications, federal bills and laws, and information about members of Congress and Congressional committees.
Congressional by ProQuest
Full-text access to historical (1789- ) and current U.S. Congressional publications, federal bills and laws, and information about members of Congress and Congressional committees.

Online Exhibits & StoryMaps at Woodson

The Life and Legacy of Jesse H. Jones
This exhibit explores the impact of Jesse H. Jones on the city of Houston and the United States through Jones's lifelong work as an entrepreneur, politician, and philanthropist.
Making Space: For Women, By Women
This exhibit highlights women that demonstrate the diversity of womanhood and particularly the diversity of political womanhood.
Mapping Civil War Narratives
A visualization of our American Civil War correspondence.
Mapping Journals and Diaries of the U.S. Civil War
A visualization of our American Civil War journals and diaries.