LibGuides: Writing in the Natural Sciences: Streaming Content

Streaming Video

JoVE - Journal of Visualized Experiments

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) is the world’s first PubMed-indexed scientific video journal. Its mission is to advance scientific research and education by increasing productivity, reproducibility, and efficiency of knowledge transfer for scientists, educators, and students worldwide through visual learning solutions.

Rice University has access to the following sections: Behavior, Biology, Bioengineering, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Immunology and Infection, Neuroscience, Science Education 1-18, which consists of the following: Basic Biology (General Laboratory Techniques, Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology, Essentials of Biology 1-yeast, Dropophila and C. elegans, and Essentials of Biology 2 – mouse, zebrafish, and chick), Advanced Biology (Essentials of Neuroscience, Essentials of Developmental Biology, Essentials of Genetics, and Essentials of Cell Biology), Psychology (Essentials of Behavioral Science, Essentials of Experimental Psychology, Essentials of Cognitive Psychology, and Essentials of Developmental Psychology), Environmental Sciences (Essentials of Environmental Science, Essentials of Environmental Microbiology, and Essentials of Earth Science), Chemistry (Essentials of General Chemistry, Essentials of Organic Chemistry, and Essentials of Analytical Chemistry), Biochemistry, Cancer Research, and Genetics, Essentials of Physics 1 and Essentials of Physics 2, Essentials of Biochemistry, and Environment.

Note: Complimentary access until June 2018, Rice University has access to Essentials of Social Psychology, Essentials of Nursing Skills, Essentials of Emerging Medical Care, Essentials of Physical Exam, III.
Complimentary access until March 2019, Rice University has access to Essentials of Sensation and Perception, Essentials of Neuropsychology.

Streaming videos are available online from Films on Demand.

This collection includes a large number of documentaries from Films for the Humanities and Sciences.

Current Protocols

Current Protocols in Cell Biology (print)

QH583.2 .C87 1998 Reference Collection

Provides comprehensive coverage of current techniques and protocols in cell biology. This three volume set and its supplements offer numerous tips for problem solving and suggests ways to avoid the most common and costly mistakes made by researchers.

Current Protocols in Molecular Biology (online)

QH506 .C87

Provides quick access to step-by-step instructions for the essential methods used in every major area in molecular biological research. All methods are lab tested from some of the world's leading laboratories. Detailed instructions, specific equipment and materials necessary to succesfully conduct an experiment are given.

Current Protocols in Protein Science (print)

QP551 .C86 1995 Reference Collection

Offers an excellent collection of reproducible step-by-step laboratory methods covering the quantitation and characterization of proteins, the electrophoretic and blotting procedures used in protein isolation and characterization, and the analysis of protein structure.