Chinese Studies: Archives
This guide provides links to the most useful databases and resources for researching Chinese Studies.
Archives
- Greater China Archival Resources Web ArchiveOne of the hurdles researchers of modern and contemporary China face in their studies is knowing about, and having access to, archival collections held at Chinese archives. The Greater China Archival Resources Web Archive collects websites belonging to established, physical archives and learned archival societies located in the Greater China region, and archival projects from or about the Greater China region.
- Digital Archives Mapping ProjectThe Digital Archives Mapping Project is an ongoing initiative that aims to enhance and expand access to primary materials and source collections that are vital to the advancement of the China Studies field.
Houston Asian Diaspora Archives at Rice
- Houston Asian American ArchiveThis research archive focuses on Houston's Asian American immigrant experience. The Chao Center for Asian Studies (CCAS) founded and manages HAAA; the Woodson Research Center, Fondren Library of Rice University, houses it.
- Guide to Houston Area Asian American Oral History InterviewsThis is a collection of oral history interviews conducted by the Chao Center for Asian Studies at Rice University. This collection includes audio recordings and transcripts of interviews with the following Asian Americans native to Houston: Edward Chen, Esther Quan, Gene L. Lee, Lewis Yee, Jane Gee, George Gee, Viola Chan, Wea Lee, Eugenie Chen, and Hannah Chow. The interviewees include one of the first Asian Americans elected to office in Harris County, a former rocket scientist and high school chemistry teacher, a founding member of the Chinese American Citizens Alliance, a World War II veteran, and the publisher of a Chinese newspaper in Texas and owner of the first Chinese printing company in Houston. Also included are several recording the KPFT "Echoes of China" radio program produced by Andy Lai, dating from 1980-1981.
- Houston Asian American Oral HistoriesOral histories of Asian Americans from Houston conducted by HAAA, Zoroastrian Association, Vietnamese American Heritage Foundation, Dr. Ed Chen.
Oral Histories
- China's Cultural Revolution in MemoriesOral Histories interviews with witnesses and participants in the Cultural Revolution in China. A project of the University of Pittsburgh Libraries.
- Houston Asian American Oral HistoriesOral histories of Asian Americans from Houston conducted by HAAA, Zoroastrian Association, Vietnamese American Heritage Foundation, Dr. Ed Chen.
Other Archives
- Folk History Archive at the Chinese University of Hong KongThe Folk History Project has been collecting Chinese personal and familial testimonies, memoirs, and biographies since 2006 on its website and in print for its collection.
Houston Local Chinese Newspapers
Jingban tianwen quantu 京板天文全圖
The Qing edition of Jingban tianwen quantu (京板天文全圖) reflects a Sinocentric world view in which every country but China is relegated to the periphery. At the top is a panel with two side-by-side hemispheric worldmaps. Korea and the islands of the east Indies are illustrated to the east and south of the China land mass, while a shrunken Europe is squeezed into the upper left corner.
The original map is housed in Fondren Library's Woodson Research Center (call number WRC G 7821 .A5 1761). You can click the below image to view the interactive version of this map.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University