East Asian Studies: Korea

The most complete listing of North Korean comic books currently available.

Provides comprehensive information on a total of 913 periodicals from the colonial period (1910-1945), pre-colonial period (1896-1910), and post-colonial period from liberation in 1945 to the establishment of the Republic of Korea (ROK) and the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) in 1948. These publications originated not only in Korea and Japan, but also in regions of China, Russia, and the United States to which Koreans migrated, and which served as bases for the Korean independence movement.

The BMKP database compiles a comprehensive bibliography of over 900 periodical titles published in Korea between 1900 and 1948. Through dynamic visualizations, the platform explores intricate connections and reveals patterns that illuminate the historical, cultural, and social fabric of modern Korea.

This is an integrated database for historical newspapers from 1880’s to 1950’s in full-text providing keyword, directory, trend and chronicle searching.

The period of Japanese colonial rule began on August 29, 1910 after Imperial Japan annexed the Great Korean Empire, and ended on August 15, 1945. The Bibliography of East Asian Periodicals (Colonial Korea 1900-1945) provides comprehensive information on a total of 913 periodicals from the colonial period (1910-1945), pre-colonial period (1896-1910), and post-colonial period from liberation in 1945 to the establishment of the Republic of Korea (ROK) and the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) in 1948. These publications originated not only in Korea and Japan, but also in regions of China, Russia, and the United States to which Koreans migrated, and which served as bases for the Korean independence movement. Subject matters include politics, economy, industry, society, literature, education, religion, women, children, medicine, science, friendship societies, etc.