Texas Studies: History
Resources and Research Guides for Texas History
- Handbook of Texas Online
A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association.
- Texas Reference Center
Includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic and cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports and leisure.
- Portal to Texas History
A gateway to Texas history materials. You may discover anything from an ancestor's picture to a rare historical map. From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. The Portal continues to grow as additional partners contribute digital versions of their collections.
- Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO)
Makes descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state available to the public. The site consists of the collection descriptions or "finding aids" that archives, libraries, and museums create to assist users in locating information in their collections. Consider these an extended table of contents which describe unique materials only available at the individual repositories. In most cases, the collections themselves are NOT available online. -
Examines the spread of American slavery into the borderlands between the United States and Mexico in the decades between 1820 and 1850... Centered on a database of slave and slaveholder populations in Texas during the Republic era (1837-45), this website offers a window into the role slavery played in the development of Texas in the years before the region became part of the United States. Contains dynamic interactive map, a population database search engine and digitized original documents.
- Texas Collection
The Texas Collection is Baylor University's oldest special collections library and serves as the University Archive that collects, preserves, and provides access to materials on the history, heritage and culture of Texas.
- Texas Treasures
An online exhibit of historical artifacts and documents from the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Online Text Collections -- General US History
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Contains approximately 500 authors and 32,000 pages of letters, diaries and memoirs.
Contains approximately 500 authors and 32,000 pages of letters, diaries and memoirs.
Black Abolitionist Papers
"The approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany".
"The approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany".
Documenting the American South
This freely-accessible collection from UNC at Chapel Hill currently includes six digitization projects: slave narratives, first-person narratives, Southern literature, Confederate imprints, materials related to the church in the black community, and North Caroliniana.
Early American Imprints: Series I, Evans: 1639-1801
Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.
Early American Imprints: Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker: 1801-1819
This rich primary source collection provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950
Sabin Americana
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
Sabin Americana
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
Brings together documents and collections about slavery covering an extensive time period from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Includes images of many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images.
Brings together documents and collections about slavery covering an extensive time period from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Includes images of many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University