Use indexes to find references to research articles and to other materials such as books, book chapters, dissertations, etc.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 5,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Indexes approximately 5,500 international journals related to virtually every life science discipline, including: agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, environment, genetics, medicine, microbiology, neurology, and pharmacology. (Note: pop-up blocking must be disabled.) (1969-)
Database which includes health related articles on a variety of topics ranging from Medicine to Public Health and Diseases.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
This health reference database includes nearly 550 full-text scholarly journals in many medical disciplines with a strong focus on nursing and allied health.
Full access to over 1100 scholarly journals, primary sources, and books in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. (Note: pop-up blocking must be disabled.)
Includes more than 4000 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Medline is prepared by the National Library of Medicine. (1985- )
PubMed @ Rice University
PubMed includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles. The PubMed @ Rice University implementation contains links to the full texts of articles that are part of the Rice University journal subscriptions. (How to search PubMed.)
Indexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages, and U.S. and international patents. Database includes article citations from 1996, permits citation tracking, saves searches, and provides email or RSS alerts of new material. The system will export records into major citation managers and prepare a bibliography according to major formats. (1966- )
Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)
This is an integrated database of three citation indexes: Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). SCI and SSCI have searchable author abstracts and each database may be searched by a variety of other accesses including who the author cites. Includes ISIHighlyCited: a directory of over 250 eminent researchers in life sciences, medicine, physical sciences and social sciences. (SCI 1900- )