Health, Illness and Wellbeing : Perspectives and Social Determinants - Fondren - Ask at Reference (RA776 .L53 2012)
Leisure, Health, and Wellness : Making the Connections - Fondren - General Stacks (GV174 .L47 2010)
Sports Nutrition : Energy Metabolism and Exercise - Fondren - General Stacks (QP176 .S69 2008)
The Impact of Early Life Trauma on Health and Disease : the Hidden Epidemic - Fondren - General Stacks (RJ506 .P55 I47 2010)
The Quest for Mental Health : a Tale of Science, Medicine, Scandal, Sorrow, and Mass Society - Fondren - General Stacks (RA790 .D69 2011)
The following is a list of selected databases available through Rice. For a complete list, or to search go to the Rice Catalog: Articles & Databases.
BioMed Central Open Acess
Provides access to peer-reviewed freely available journals in the biomedical fields.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Gale Virtual Reference Library includes dictionaries and encyclopedias covering: Biography, General Reference, History, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Science.3688,436,036,436,036
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
This health reference database includes nearly 550 full-text scholarly journals in many medical disciplines with a strong focus on nursing and allied health.
Medline (ISI Web of Knowledge)
Medline provides access to thousands of articles in biomedical and life sciences.
Physical Education Index (via CSA)
Indexes the scholarly and trade literature in physical education. Areas of coverage range from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered. (1970-)
PsycINFO (via CSA)
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to over 1300 journals, and dissertations in more than 30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references are added annually. Popular literature is excluded. (1806- )
PubMed @ Rice University
PubMed includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles. The PubMed @ Rice University implementation contains links to the full texts of articles that are part of the Rice University journal subscriptions.
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)
Focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. It's mission is to provide a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
This database indexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages and U.S. and international patents.
SPORTDiscus (via EBSCOhost)
Contains information on the following: sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment. (1975- )