Private Company Information: Private Company Information
Keep in mind
Good company research should include company background (if available) and current information on the company. Private companies are a challenge, since they do not file with anyone but the IRS and are not written about much. Current company information can be found in business press, trade publications and local newspapers.
Histories
Business Insights: Essentials – Use this database to research and analyze companies and industries around the world. It has content needed to explore a global business landscape: extensive reference content from Gale’s core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories and more. Provides journal/news coverage of both industries and companies. Limited private company coverage.
International Directory of Company Histories Limited private company coverage.
- Intellect This link opens in a new window"Mergent Intellect is a flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with Dun & Bradstreet's private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Additionally, through Mergent's partnership with Whitepages Pro, clients now have immediate access to contact information for over 250 million U.S. consumers. This enhanced search tool features specific information - name, address, previous address, age, number of household members and reverse phone number lookup capabilities - another valuable source of business insight (Mergent)."
Basic Company Informantion
Electronic
- Hoover's Academic This link opens in a new windowBasic company information for US and International public and some private companies. Limited private company coverage.
- Data Axle (formerly Reference Solutions and Reference USA) This link opens in a new windowThis business phone book from across the U.S. can also show key employees and some financial information. It is very good for data on small private companies. It is the only way to find information on the various locations of a company. A great feature is the ability to do a Custom Search that can be used to set up a customized directory or determine competitors.
- Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new windowUse this database to research and analyze companies and industries around the world. It has content needed to explore a global business landscape: extensive reference content from Gale’s core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories and more. Provides journal/news coverage of both industries and companies. Limited private company coverage.
- PrivCo This link opens in a new windowPrivCo is an electronic company database of private company information. In addition PrivCo includes data on Investors, Funding, M&A Deals, and PE Deals. The service requires users to set up accounts.
- Uniworld Online This link opens in a new windowThis directory contains foreign companies that have a substantial investment in American operations - wholly or partially owned subsidiary, affiliate or branch. Company information is limited.
- Brands and Their Companies This link opens in a new window"Lists manufacturers and distributors from small businesses to large corporations, from both the public and private sectors. Provides complete coverage of U.S. consumer brands; manufacturers, importers and distributors; and companies that are out of business, as well as brands that are no longer in production or are now considered generic (Gale)."
Paper
General:
Corporate Yellow Book HG4057 .A15464
LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations HG4057 .A219
Specialized:
Texas High Technology Directory HC107 .T42 T492
Financial Yellow Book HG65 .F52
Corporate Finance Sourcebook HG4057 .A1565
