Lambiotte Family/Francis Poulenc Archive: Books and Recordings
Collection of manuscripts and signed editions of works of the composer Francis Poulenc (1899-1963), acquired from the Lambiotte-Donhauser family.
Using the Brown Fine Arts Library
You can find more information about Francis Poulenc, his life and music, in our general music colleciton.
The music collection is housed in the Fondren Library and consists of over 100,000 music-related items in all formats.
Music scores, books, and periodicals, are located on Fondren’s third floor in the Brown Fine Arts Library. Sound and video recordings, and print course reserves are kept at the first floor Circulation Desk. Listening equipment is in the Brown Fine Arts Library and on the first floor near the circulation desk.
Materials that are located in the Library Service Center (LSC) can be paged and brought to the Fondren Library by Rice users and visitors; visitors should use this form.
The Lambiotte Family/Francis Poulenc archive is kept in the Woodson Research Center, the library's special collections and archives department. The WRC is open Mon-Fri 9am-4pm.
Selected Biographies
Francis Poulenc by
The work of Poulenc in the context of his colourful personal life
Call Number: ML410 .P787 I952 1996ISBN: 071483503XPublication Date: 1996
Entrancing Muse by
"It is traditional wisdom that a composer's popularity wanes for at least ten years after his death. Not so with Poulenc, whose music gained almost universal acceptance immediately after his death at the age of sixty-four. The present documented biography charts a new course in Poulenc scholarship by relying on thousands of primary sources, many of which have not been consulted by earlier Poulenc biographers. It is a detailed scrutiny of his day-to-day activities and his relationships with many friends and acquaintances. This study seeks not only to examine Poulenc as a composer, but to place proper emphasis on his extensive career as a pianist and recording artist. Lavishly illustrated, the volume includes a complete discography, and an exhaustive summary of Poulenc's concert tours, as well as a list of portraits and drawings."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: ML410 .P787 S35 2001ISBN: 1576470261Publication Date: 2001- Francis Poulenc byCall Number: ML410 .P787 L33 2013Publication Date: 2013
Francis Poulenc: the man and his songs by
In 1935 the French baritone Pierre Bernac formed a duo with the composer Francis Poulenc that became a legend throughout the world. Unprecedented in the history of music, it was the first duo in which the singer and pianist were perceived as equals. It lasted for 25 years and was a determining influence on Poulenc's vocal output: more than two-thirds of his songs were written for Bernac to sing.
Call Number: ML410 .P787 B53 2001ISBN: 1871082773Publication Date: 2002
Francis Poulenc by
Exploring the fascinating world of early-to mid-twentieth century artistic gay Paris and, in particular, the links between Poulenc's sexuality, his music and his religious beliefs, with extensive references to other artists in his circle, including Cocteau and Radiguet. Poulenc is perhaps best known for a spate of powerful religious works precipitated by a series of disastrous love affairs with young men and the death of a close friend, the composer, Pierre Octave-Ferroud. A fascinating look at the life of a tragic and wonderful artist.
Call Number: ML410 .P787 B87 2002ISBN: 1899791094Publication Date: 2003
Diary of My Songs by
Features songs that documents the twenties and thirties from within. The original French text is published alongside its English translation.
Call Number: ML410 .P787 A2813 2006ISBN: 1871082862Publication Date: 2007
My friends and myself : conversations [with] Francis Poulenc by Call Number: ML410.P787 A33
Poulenc's music and environment
- Art and the everyday : the impact of Parisian popular entertainment on Satie, Milhaud, Poulenc, and Auric byCall Number: ML270.8 .P2 P47 1986aPublication Date: 1986
Francis Poulenc: articles and interviews : notes from the heart by
'He plays the piano well,' wrote the society hostess Mme de Saint-Marceaux in her diary on 18 March 1927. 'His compositions are not devoid of talent but he's not a genius, and I'm afraid he thinks he is.' Intelligent though the lady was, she got this one spectacularly wrong. Poulenc has in fact outpaced his colleagues in Les Six by many a mile, as singers and instrumentalists all over the world will attest, and while he would never have accepted the title of 'genius', preferring 'artisan', a genius is increasingly what he appears to have been. Part of the answer lay in always being his own man, and this independence of spirit shows through in his writings and interviews just as brightly as in his music, whether it's boasting that he'd be happy never to hear The Mastersingers ever again, pointing out that what critics condemn as the 'formlessness' of French music is one of its delights, voicing his outrage at attempts to 'finish' the Unfinished Symphony, writing 'in praise of banality' - or remembering the affair of Debussy's hat. And in every case, his intelligence, humour and generosity of spirit help explain why he was so widely and deeply loved. This volume comprises selected articles from Francis Poulenc: J'écris ce qui me chante (Fayard, 2011) edited by Nicholas Southon. Many of these articles and interviews have not been available in English before and Roger Nichols's translation, capturing the very essence of Poulenc's lively writing style, makes more widely accessible this significant contribution to Poulenc scholarship.
Call Number: ML410 .P787 A2513 2014ISBN: 9781409466222Publication Date: 2014
Les Six : the French composers and their mentors, Jean Cocteau and Erik Satie by
The absorbing, comprehensive story of an absolutely unique experiment in classical music, involving;many;key figures of the Dada and Surrealist movements; Les Six were a group of talented composers who came together in a unique collaboration that has never been matched in classical music, and here their remarkable story is told for the first time. A musical experiment originally conceived by Erik Satie and then built upon by Jean Cocteau, Les Six were also born out of the shock of the German invasion of France in 1914--an avant-garde riposte to German romanticism and Wagnerism. Les Six were all--and still are--respected in music circles, but under the aegis of Cocteau, they found themselves moving among a whole new milieu: the likes of Picasso, Ren#65533; Clair, Blaise Cendrars, and Maurice Chevalier all appear in the story. But the story of Les Six goes on long after the heyday of Bohemian Paris--the group never officially disbanded and it was only in the last 20 years that the last member died; moreover, their spouses, descendents, and associates are still active, ensuring that the remarkable legacy of this unique group survives.
Call Number: ML390 .L58 2011ISBN: 9780720612936Publication Date: 2011
The Music of Francis Poulenc (1899-1963) by
The name of Francis Poulenc (1899-1963) was first brought to prominence in the 1920s as a member of Les Six, a group of young French composers encouraged by Satie and Cocteau. His subsequent fame spread well beyond France, and he is coming to be regarded as one of this century's most significant composers. His compositions are heard constantly in concert halls the world over, and numerous recordings, including complete sets of songs and piano music, have been released. Books, articles and more than a dozen doctoral dissertations have discussed his music.Carl Schmidt's catalogue of Poulenc's works represents the first comprehensive attempt to list an oeuvre which numbers approximately 185 compositions written from his teenage years until his death at the age of 63. The Catalogue indentifies a number of unpublished works, and adds a small group ofcompositions to his musical canon for the first time.Each work, whether complete or unfinished, published or unpublished, is described fully. Catalogue entries list and describe all known printed editions (including reprints) and manuscript copies of each work. In addition, they provide detailed compositional histories based on numerous letters,documents, and press accounts, many of which have not been published previously. Russian interest in Poulenc's music, manifested in press runs exceeding one million copies, is also revealed for the first time.
Call Number: Music Ref ML134 .P87 S3 1995ISBN: 0198163363Publication Date: 1995
Francis Poulenc by
This collection of essays provides vivid new insights into Poulenc's world, his particular rapport with painters, writers and fellow musicians, and with the social élite who promoted his music through their salons. Contributions from international Poulenc scholars include the influence of various artists on his music, the nature of his affinity for Eluard's poetry, his response to texts by Cocteau and Bernanos, and his constant search for suitable libretti. New light is thrown on two friendships, the first with his childhood friend Raymonde Linossier who introduced him to the world of books, the second to his teacher Charles Koechlin who greatly influenced his choral style. A detailed study is also provided of Poulenc's four choral works with orchestra. Finally, the reader is allowed a rare view of Poulenc at the microphone, not as interviewee but as radio presenter, in his 1947-1949 series of programmes 'A bâtons rompus'.
Call Number: ML410 .P787 F73 1999ISBN: 1859284078Publication Date: 1999
Composer sous Vichy by Call Number: ML270.5 .S56 2009Publication Date: 2009- Francis Poulenc by
In 1935 the French baritone Pierre Bernac formed a duo with the composer Francis Poulenc that became a legend throughout the world. Unprecedented in the history of music, it was the first duo in which the singer and pianist were perceived as equals. It lasted for 25 years and was a determining influence on Poulenc's vocal output: more than two-thirds of his songs were written for Bernac to sing.
Call Number: ML410 .P787 B53 2001ISBN: 1871082773Publication Date: 2002
The Interpretation of French Song by Call Number: MT892 .B4 1997ISBN: 1871082633Publication Date: 2002
Les Six
Poulenc with Pierre Bernac
Selected Recordings
- Poulenc, Ibert, Milhaud, Françaix by Sextuor pour flûte, hautbois, clarinette, cor, basson et piano, op. 100Call Number: CD 321-2909
- Music for piano (1918-1959) Aleck Karis, piano. Intermède (2:31) -- Thème varié (11:15) -- Trois mouvements perpétuels (5:39) -- Valse-improvisation sur le nom de BACH (2:01) -- Fifteen improvisations (25:12) -- Badinage (1:53) -- Mélancolie (6:15) -- Trois pièces (8:41).Call Number: CD 319-8524
- Les mélodies sur des poèmes de Paul ÉluardCall Number: CD 320-3644Publication Date: 2015
- Piano concertos ; AubadeCall Number: CD 318-8076
- Complete music for winds and pianoCall Number: CD 309-2294
- The complete songs of Poulenc. Vol. 1 - 5Call Number: Vol. 1, CD 233-6441Vol. 2, CD 239-2536
Vol. 3, CD 239-7590
Vol. 4, CD 265-2502
Vol. 5, CD 311-2079 - Figure humaineCall Number: CD 238-6160
- L'histoire de Babar, le petit éléphant.Call Number: CD 225-0858 (Library Service Center)
- Gloria; MotetsCall Number: CD 213-6173
- The composers playCall Number: CD 211-3919
- PoulencCall Number: CD 209-3808 V.1-2
- The CarmelitesCall Number: CD 205-4054
- Dialogues des CarmélitesCall Number: CD 204-1514 (Library Service Center)
- La voix humaine; La Dame de Monte-CarloCall Number: CD 166-6991
- The essential Pierre BernacCall Number: CD 149-4505
- Le groupe des SixCall Number: CD 139-2092
- Le bal masquéCall Number: CD 147-9487
- A recital by Pierre Bernac, baritone, and Francis Poulenc, pianoCall Number: LP .B51 1 (LP Record, Library Service Center)
- Dialogues des Carmélites [videorecording] : opéra en trois actes et 12 tableauxCall Number: M1500 .P68 D5 1999 Fondren DVD CollectionPublication Date: Arthaus [1999]
- Piano concertos ; Aubade byCall Number: CD 318-8076Publication Date: CHAN 10875 Chandos
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University