Skip to main content

Music - Vocal: Searching the library catalog

Call numbers and subject headings for vocal music

operas - full scores M1500
operas - vocal scores with piano M1503
operas - excerpts - full scores M1505
operas - excerpts - arranged accompaniment M1506
choruses with orchestra or other ensemble M1530-M1546.5

choruses, part-songs, etc., with accompaniment of keyboard or other solo instrument, or unaccompanied 

M1547-M1600
songs for one voice M1611-M1626
songs with orchestra  M1613
songs with 2 or more instruments (chamber) M1613.3
sacred vocal music M1999-M2199

 

 Browse more music call numbers (pdf with links)

 

 

Subject headings for vocal music (search by subject or keyword in Webcat)

 

Songs--Indexes

Songs--Texts

Singing--Instruction and study

Vocal music, Italian--Bibliography

Vocal music--Bibliography

English poetry--Musical settings--Bibliography

English poetry--19th century—Musical settings--Bibliography

Classical mythology--Songs and music--Indexes

Songs with instrumental ensemble--UnitedStates--20th century--Bibliography

Vocal duets with instrumental ensemble—United States--20th century--Bibliography

Shakespeare--Musical settings

Finding Books

Finding Scores and Recordings online

Scores

Free public domain scores, and sometimes parts, available for downloading.

 No Rice affiliation needed.

Public domain scores at the Sibley Music Library, Eastman.

International Music Score Library Project

 

Sound and Video Recordings

Subject Guide

Mary Brower
Contact:
B35-K, Reference Office, Fondren Library, basement; 713-348-2593
Website / Blog Page
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University | Maps + Directions