Wolfram Search
Optimizing Google
Have you set your Preferences on Google Scholar? Doing this takes a
moment, and allows Google to better help link you through to the
fulltext of articles.
Google Scholar often will take you
directly to the fulltext by clicking on an article title. Sometimes,
however, the article is available from multiple sources - Fondren may
have the article available at a source other than the one listed in Google
Scholar.
Instructions:
- when you're in a fullscreen search of GoogleScholar, look to the right of the search box for "Scholar Preferences" and click there
- look for the section on "Library Links" and use the search box to find the entries for Rice University, Fondren Library (there are several - chose all of them for the best results)
- Save your preferences and return to searching
You
now will be able to Click on either "Check Fondren Holdings" or
"Fulltext @ Fondren" to see if the article is available from another
Fondren database than the one Google Scholar has chosen to point to.
Remember, this is still only a finding aid - please see our remote access instructions for assistance in obtaining fulltext access when away from campus.
Finding Articles
Use indexes to find references to research articles and to other materials such as books, book chapters, dissertations, etc. In some cases, links to the full text are provided. When links are not available, use the E-Journal Portal to find access points for journals in electronic format. Some subscriptions are in paper format only; check Webcat to search for journals not found online. For indexes in other subject areas, see Fondren's list of Indexes and Databases.
Welcome
This guide covers different methods to find information in your field: Mathematics. The purpose of this guide is to get you started. You will know what resources are the most useful for your research- these are just examples.
- Journal Table of Contents (TOC)- Stay up to date with your journals of interest
- Citation Alerts- when another author has cited your work
- New Books- Browse new books in the field
- News Feeds- News from publishers and professional societies
Preprints
Preprints
- Directory of Mathematics Preprint and e-print Servers: http://www.ams.org/global-preprints/
- ArXiv.org e-print Archive {Mathematics Section} http://arxiv.org/archive/math
- Mathematics Preprint Server http://www.mathpreprints.com/math/Preprint/show/
- MPRESS Mathematics Preprint Search System http://MathNet.preprints.org/
Subject Guide |






Loading...
