CERCL (Center for Engaged Research and Collaborative Learning) archival collections: Home

http://cercl.rice.edu/

Through innovative research, engaged pedagogy, and creative approaches to application, the Center for Engaged Research and Collaborative Learning seeks to promote and advance creative models and practices of leadership of benefit to new generations of leaders.

Carter, Matthew K. “All Day in the Trey-Fold: Sound, Objecthood, and Place in the
Mixtapes of DJ Screw”. ProQuest Dissertations Publishing, 2020.

Faniel, Maco L. Hip-Hop in Houston: the Origin & the Legacy, Charleston, SC: The
History Press, 2013.

Gary, Lindsay, and Sylvester Turner. The New Red Book: a Guide to 50 of Houston’s
Black Historical and Cultural Sites. Texas: Printing Museum Press, 2022.

Long, Brittany L. “Hustle in H-Town: Hip Hop Entrepreneurialism in Houston.” The
Journal of hip hop studies 9, no. 1 (2022): 53–76.

Taylor, Christopher Michael. “Power to Represent: The Spatialized Politics of Style in
Houston Hip Hop”, 2011.

Walker, Lance Scott. DJ Screw: a Life in Slow Revolution Austin: University of Texas
Press, 2022.

Walker, Lance Scott, and Willie D. Houston Rap Tapes : an Oral History of Bayou City
Hip-Hop. Austin: University of Texas Press, 2018.

Wilkins, Langston Collin. “Screwston, TX: The Impact of Space, Place, and Cultural
Identity on Music Making in Houston’s Hip Hop Scene”. ProQuest Dissertations
Publishing, 2016.

The CERCL Archival Collection furthers CERCLs objective of preserving and storing of unique materials – both written and non-written (e.g., visual arts and expressive culture) – for use in creative pedagogy and research that enhances the information base from which leaders in urban contexts draw.

Brief descriptions of specific records and papers that are currently available are as follows:

Carroll Blue art and storytelling collection, 1965-2018

To become available for research in 2020, this collection documents the career of artist and native Houstonian, Carroll Blue.

Reverend William A. Lawson Papers, 1955-2006

This collection documents the path of Rev. William A. "Bill" Lawson as a minister and religious educator in Houston, Texas. It includes teaching materials, recorded sermons, notes for sermons, and church bulletins for Wheeler Avenue Baptist Church.  

Ensemble Theatre Records, 1983-2008

This collection, donated by Mrs. Audrey H. Lawson, contains fifteen boxes of material related to the operation of The Ensemble Theatre in Houston, Texas, including General Records, Administration Records and Financial Records.

Judge Clarease Yates Papers, 1990-2005

Donated by Judge Clarease Yates, this collection contains several proclamations and recognitions honoring Judge Yates, dating from 1990-2005.  It includes a proclamation for a Judge Clarease Rankin Yates Day from the City of Houston (2005), Black History month poster/calendar highlighting Judge Yates, recognition resolution from Council of the District of Columbia (1990), and a recognition resolution from the Kentucky Colonel Commission from the Commonwealth of Kentucky (1991).

Community Artists' Collective Records (1985-2014)

The Community Artists' Collective (The Collective), was conceived in 1985 by Michelle Barnes, artist/educator and director of Barnes-Blackman Galleries and Dr. Sarah Trotty, artist/educator at Texas Southern University. The core objectives of the organization include expanding the market for original work of African American artists and making arts education more accessible to children and adults. The Collective was the first visual arts organization in the Third Ward/Midtown area. Since that time, the Collective has consistently presented visual art to residents and tourists of all ages as evidence of the rich diversity of Houston's Cultural Communities. For more than 25 years, and as school budgets for fine arts has diminished, The Collective has worked with schools and other organizations across the city to supplement art education programming.
 

Hip Hop Archival Collection

Over the last forty plus years, the cultural expression known as hip hop has proliferated and grown in expansive and important ways. Hip hop continues to impact societies across the world, even -- and especially -- here in Houston.

CERCL's Hip Hop Archival Collection is housed at the Woodson Research Center Special Collections and University Archives in Rice’s Fondren Library. CERCL and the University of Houston Libraries developed the "Houston Hip Hop Archives Network," for preserving the artifacts of Houston hip hop. The archive, exhibits, panel discussions and lectures increase the spotlight on hip-hop, preserve its importance for future generations, and underscore hip-hop’s role as a space where community and intellectual leadership is generated and cultivated.

 

Scotty ATL Hip Hop collection (call # MS 1069)

Walter Scott Williams, known professionally as Scotty ATL, is an American rapper, songwriter, record producer and entrepreneur. His musical journey began in his native Atlanta, GA when a friend encouraged him to rap and he quickly gained popularity. In 2015 he released his debut album, and the following year, he embarked on a tour with B.O.B. His talent for business and networking led him to open Grillz By Scotty, a custom jewelry and grillz shop popular among many high-profile clients such as Issa Rae, Flo Milli, Big Boi, the Atlanta Hawks, and more. In 2023 his business will be featured in Diddy's Empower Global Shop, he will create grillz for the "Rock the Bells Cruise," commemorating hip-hop's 50th anniversary. His "Show Ya Grill" tour begins in September 2023 along with the release of his album "Legend In My City". This archival collection includes grill molds from Issa Rae, Big Boi, T.I., and a 2023 oral history interview with Hip Hop artist Scotty ATL, by Corey Garrett, CERCL Community Archives Affiliate.

K-Rino Hip Hop Music Collection, 2008-2017 (call # MS 720)

Recordings and posters featuring K-Rino, as well as one Houston Chronicle (September 10-16, 2015) edition featuring Houston's Hip-Hop History, one "Rap by Design: Conspiracy to Revelation" book, with foreword by K-Rino, and one unopened "Stories from the Black Book" cassette tape.

Swisha House papers, 2001-2010 (call # MS 607)

Photographs, promotional cards, posters, published interviews and music of Swisha House artists such as Paul Wall, Lil Mario, Slim Thug, Coota Bang, Michael 5000 Watts, Big Tyme, Lester Roy, Sabwarfare, Archie Lee, J Dawg and many others. Music is on audiocassette, LP album, and CD. Additionally, this collection features a large framed platinum record presented to CERCL to commemorate the sale 1 million copies of Paul Wall's The Peoples Champ album. (1 box plus framed platinum record)

Pimp C rap artist collection, 1987-2008 (call # MS 651)

The Pimp C rap artist collection contains several documents and other paraphernalia of the artist Chad "Pimp C" Butler. The documents include handwritten song lyrics on loose leaf paper and cardboard, papers from the Texas Department of Justice relating to his arrest for aggravated assault, a Grammy nomination, a copy of his obituary from his funeral, and a marketing plan by FM2 Radio and the joint venture deal with Universal Music Group. Also included in the collection are several forms of artwork featuring Pimp C and a 12-inch record (warped), with the songs Stop-N-Go and The Game Belongs to Me.

Too Short collection, 2000-2004 (call # MS 657)

Todd Anthony Shaw (born April 28, 1966), better known by the stage name Too Short (stylized as Too $hort), is an American rapper, producer, and actor. He is best known for his hit songs like "The Ghetto" and "Blow the Whistle". Too Short is one of the very few musicians to have been able to collaborate with both 2Pac and The Notorious B.I.G. during the height of their careers. Too Short released two films as well, 2001's Too Short Uncensored and Titty City. This collection includes VHS tapes, mini-DV tapes, magazines, contracts, and correspondence.

Mike Frost graphic designer collection of Houston Hip-Hop artwork, 1999-2009 (call # MS 682)

With over 15 years experience as both a Graphic Designer and Photographer, Mike Frost has defined the image and branding of rap/hip-hop albums in Texas an arguably the South. (Excerpted, see SLFEMP page for more information.) This collection includes 2 boxes of examples of graphic design work done by Mike Frost for hip-hop artists in the Houston area.

 

These collections are housed in the Woodson Research Center, Fondren Library's home for rare and unique materials.

Woodson Research Center's hours: 
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday.

Location:
1st floor of the Fondren Library, just inside the West entrance (the Brochstein Pavilion side)

Some materials are stored off-site; please call or e-mail ahead for specific information, at 713-348-2586 or woodson@rice.edu.

Oral history interviews by CERCL

Judge Clarease R. Yates oral history, 2016

• Judge Clarease R. Yates is a judge with the United States Immigration and Nationalization Service in Houston, Texas. She is the first African-American immigration judge in the United States.

Michelle Barnes oral history, 2016 

• Michelle Barnes is the Co-founder and CEO of the Community Artists' Collective, in Houston, Texas.