LibGuides: Migration History: Additional Databases

Chronological

Eight Centuries: 1106-1960 This link opens in a new window
"Eight Centuries is a vast database of historical citations and links to full text documents. It aggregates scholarly indexes to journals, newspapers, books, documents, art work and images. Eight Centuries currently comprises 27,408,426 discrete links to primary source historical documents in 24 languages." (Paratext) This collection is the first stop for researching pre-1960 materials. it aggregates all kinds of indexes to books, periodicals, newspapers, government documents and patents into a single resource.
Within Series I are the main multi-title, periodical indices, spanning nearly all Anglo-American periodicals of the late eighteenth through early twentieth century. PP reproduces the indexing from: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1907), Index to Periodicals (1890-1902) (Ed. William T. Stead), Cumulative Index to a Selected List of Periodicals, Nineteenth Century Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-1899), and many more.

Series V provides online access to the Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the U.S., 1774-1882, Compilation of the Message and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1897), Hansard's Index to Debates, House of Commons (1803-1830) and Hansard's Index to Debates, House of Lords (1803-1830).

Medieval to Renaissance Eras

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new window
The discipline areas to which the IMB is relevant include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies. Dates of coverage: 1981 - .
Iter: gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, Festschriften, encyclopedias, and exhibition catalogs).
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Library of the Greek and Latin texts with English translations from the Classical World.

Perseus Digital Library
Originating out of the Classics Department at Tufts University, this Website now includes primary and secondary resources in Classics, the English Renaissance, etc.

Late 17th to Early 20th Centuries

Eighteenth Century Journals (1685-1835) This link opens in a new window
"Bringing together rare journals printed between c. 1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion." (Adam Matthew) We own access to parts 1-5.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
C19 Index is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Within Series I are the main multi-title, periodical indices, spanning nearly all Anglo-American periodicals of the late eighteenth through early twentieth century. PP reproduces the indexing from: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1907), Index to Periodicals (1890-1902) (Ed. William T. Stead), Cumulative Index to a Selected List of Periodicals, Nineteenth Century Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-1899), ... and many more. Series V provides online access to the Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the U.S., 1774-1882, Compilation of the Message and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1897), Hansard's Index to Debates, House of Commons (1803-1830) and Hansard's Index to Debates, House of Lords (1803-1830).

General

Making of the Modern World (the) This link opens in a new window
This collection focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Rice University owns access to Part I, 1450-1850; Part II, 1851-1914; Part III, 1890-1945; and Part IV: 1800-1890.
The Making of the Modern World consists of:
● Part 1: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850, "this collection provides full-text searching of many rare primary source materials: monographs, serials, political pamphlets and broadsides, proclamations, and more;"
● Part II: 1851-1914, this collection is "comprised mainly of monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, this collection broadens Gale's international coverage of social, economic, and business history as well as political science, technology, industrialization, and the birth of the modern corporation;"
● Part III: 1890-1945, "this collection is comprised largely of monographs and periodicals, offering transnational coverage in an area of vital interest to historians: political economy. The archive supports research on critical topics, such as world trade, finance and capital formation, transportation and the growth of cities, industrialization, imperialism and colonialism, socialism, labor and poverty, and other areas of study;" and
● Part IV: 1800-1890, "offers definitive coverage of the 'Age of Capital,' the industrial revolution, and the High Victorian Era, when the foundations of modern-day capitalism and global trade were established (Gale)."
Global Commodities This link opens in a new window
"This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices." (Adam Matthew)

Women in World History
"Women in World History reflects three approaches central to current scholarship in world history and the history of women: an emphasis on comparative issues rather than civilizations in isolation; a focus on contacts among different societies; and an attentiveness to “global” forces, such as technology diffusion, migration, or trade routes, that transcend individual societies. "
D-Place: Database of Places, Languages, Culture and Environment
"Brings together a dispersed body of information on the language, geography, culture and environment of more than 1,400 human societies." Find information on pre-industrial societies described by anthropologists mainly in the 19th and early 20th centuries [pre-1950]..
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR is a large social science data archive that includes datasets relating to a wide variety of social sciences topics, including different forms of migration from around the world. You will need to create an ICPSR account to download datasets.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
"a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses. From the outset the site took a very broad view of the sources that should be available to students and as well as documents long associated with a "western civilization" approach to history also provides much information on Byzantine, Islamic, Jewish, Indian, East Asian, and African history. "