Human Rights & Genocide: Africa

This digital archive features historial books and documents relating to the history of Sudan, environmental and peace issues, ethnographic studies, and Islam in Sudan.

"The following maps show areas in which genocides have occurred, or are claimed to have occurred. Some have specific information about the location of sites of violence." (Yale GSP)

Documents, cases and information regarding the history of the Rwandan Genocide and the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda.

"digital collection of items related to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, pre-genocide history and post-genocide reconstruction processes"

"The Rwanda Documents Project was started by Professor Peter Erlinder of William Mitchell College of Law in St. Paul, Minnesota as a result of his work as a defense attorney at the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda. The goal of the Project is to collect and make available primary source materials from international and national agencies, governments, and courts that relate to the political and social history of Rwanda from 1990 to the present."

"The Voices from the Rwanda Tribunal collection contains 49 video interviews conducted with personnel from the United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR). Collected in 2008, these interviews reveal the challenges of striving for justice and reconciliation after genocide."

"The report contains major findings on: the root causes of the conflict, the impact of the conflict on women, children and the generality of the Liberian society; responsibility for the massive commission of Gross Human Rights Violations (GHRV), and violations of International Humanitarian Law (IHL), International Human Rights Law (IHRL) as well as Egregious Domestic Law Violations (EDLV)." (TRC)

"The South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) was set up by the Government of National Unity to help deal with what happened under apartheid. The conflict during this period resulted in violence and human rights abuses from all sides" (TRC). The website includes commission reports and transcripts of hearings.

Small digital archive includes documents, posters, and photographs relating to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and the anti-apartheid movement.

This digital archive contains records used by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and affiliated organizations.

"From 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994, providing a wealth of material on this fascinating period of the country’s history." (DISA)