LibGuides: Media Studies: Articles

Media Studies Article Databases

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch searches Rice's library catalog, digital collections, and e-resources such as ebooks, e-journals, databases, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, including books, journal and magazine articles, bibliographies, and trade publications.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. This extensive database indexes over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, this database indexes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
These archives index more than 500,000 articles from 340 film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals, Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
The full-text version of the index, FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus, adds searchable full text from many of the most important FIAF journals, including full-text coverage of FIAF index records from key titles such as Sight and Sound and Positif. Both resources provide in-depth, discipline-specific indexing and abstracts, with full searching functionality and citation management support.
Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) This link opens in a new window
This index "covers issues in public policy, combining both PAIS Archive and PAIS International, with coverage from 1915 to present. Sources include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more (ProQuest).
While the index itself has little fulltext, Fondren has 'linked' to our online journal subscriptions - click on the FullText@Fondren icon.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocIndex (formerly Sociological Abstracts) covers 3,000 journals (and some books) in sociology, social planning/policy, and related subjects. "...offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others."