Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
WPA Slave Narratives (Complete Microfiche Collection) in Fondren
WPA Slave Narratives MICROFICHE COLLECTION
What is microfiche? Microfiche is a flat piece of film containing microphotographs of the pages of a newspaper, catalog, or other documents.
WPA Slave Narratives on Microfiche
The WPA Slave Narratives is available as microfiche. The microfiche collection can be found at the Kelley Center in the basement of Fondren Library.
Contact the Kelley Center at Fondren Library for any questions or additional assistance:
Email: govhelp@rice.edu
Phone: 713-348-5483
- Slave narratives, a folk history of slavery in the United States from interviews with former slaves. Typewritten records prepared by the Federal Writers' project, 1936-1938, assembled by the Library of Congress project, Work Projects Administration, for t byCall Number: Government Publications - Microforms E444 .F27Publication Date: 1941
Microform Information
Located in Fondren Library's basement, the Kelley Center holds over 200 major microform collections, comprised of over 3 million items. The expansive collection covers a wide range of topics, from Congressional Hearings and Department of Energy Reports to the personal papers of Jane Addams and W.E.B. DuBois.
Please note: Most microfilm has been moved to the off-site Library Service Center (LSC). The Houston Post, Houston Chronicle and New Orleans Times-Picayune, and selected others remain. For more information about checking out microfilm from the LSC, see the instructions below or the LibAnswer.
Accouncement: Fondren Library provides access to a partially completed electronic collection of historical issues of the Houston Chronicle. Presently, holdings are available ranging from 1901 through 1963 with extensive gaps. Additional content is added frequently. When completed, the coverage will span from 1901-1985. Issues from 1985 through the current year have are available electronically through Newsbank. Use at library computers or with a Rice login. For issues not available electronically, the microfilm version is in the Microform and Maps room in the basement of Fondren Library. See a description on the newspapers page of this guide.
On-Site Assistance
https://library.rice.edu/content/kelley-centers-visitorsWe highly encourage you to contact Kelley Center staff to schedule an appointment for microform assistance via email govhelp@rice.edu, or call (713) 348-6212 or (713) 348-5483. Before your visit, please check the web page with the information for Kelley Center's visitors.
When you are on site,
- If you need assistance operating the microform equipment:
- See this LibGuide's Equipment tab for information about operating the machines.
- Request help from the Kelley Center Information Desk staff.
- Call (713) 348-6212 or (713) 348-5483 or visit the staff offices (B38, Fondren Library basement).
- If the Kelley Center information desk is closed or no one is in the office, Digital Media Commons (DMC) professional staff can provide immediate assistance when available.
- Email govhelp@rice.edu.
- If you need assistance retrieving microfilm from the off-site Library Service Center:
- First review the box "LSC Retrieval Requests" on this page.
- Contact the Circulation Department for further assistance: (713) 348-4021, circ@rice.edu.
- If you need assistance with searching and/or locating microforms:
- Use this LibGuide. Navigate with the tabs at the top and the boxes on each page; review the resources for tips and help on finding and searching microform materials.
- Contact the Kelley Center Government Information Coordinator via email govhelp@rice.edu, or phone (713) 348-6212 or (713) 348-5483, or visit the office (B38A, Fondren Library basement; ring the doorbell).
- Contact your subject librarian or email ask@rice.libanswers.com, which can reach all subject librarians.
Microform Equipment
Microform Equipment Available in Fondren Library
- 2 ST ViewScan Microform Scanners
- Reads and scans all micro-formats (PDF enabled)
- 1 Minolta MS7000 Microform Reader/Printer
- 1 Minolta MSP 2000 Microform Reader/Printer
A Kelley Center ST ViewScan microform reader and scanner
Get Help
We encourage all visitors to use the modern ViewScan machines directly connected to computers. Members of the Rice community may access the computers using their NetID. Other visitors may request a general microform username and password from Kelley Center staff (DMC if unavailable). The digitally-enabled microform scanners are free to use. If you have a preference for the older microform viewing machines, please be aware that they are only capable of displaying and printing microform contents and there is a small fee to use the printers.
- Video: How to Use ViewScan Video instruction on how to use the ViewScan; film loading instruction at 2:24. Some functions may be slightly different from the ones in Fondren Library
- ST ViewScan Instructional Image An image illustrating the basic parts and functions of an ST ViewScan from the Sojourner Truth Library, New Paltz, SUNY.
- Using the ST ViewScan Digital Microform Scanner (LibGuide) Using the ST ViewScan Digital Microform Scanner from the John M. Pfau Library, California State University, San Bernardino.
- FAQ Repository of Fondren Library's frequently asked questions.Click on a topic to see if someone else already asked the same question or type your own question, e.g. "microform", "microfiche", etc.
For help, please contact the Kelley center at (713) 348-5483 or govhelp@rice.edu.