Government Resources on Hispanic Heritage: Hispanic Heritage Month
Hispanic Heritage Month is an annual celebration of achievements by Hispanic Americans and a time for recognizing their central role in U.S. history. Take a look through this LibGuide to learn more about Hispanic Heritage Month.
Online Resources
- Hispanic Heritage MonthThe Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society.
- National Hispanic Heritage Month: Sept. 15-Oct. 15, 2023From hispanicheritagemonth.gov: “This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
- DOD Celebrates National Hispanic Heritage MonthThe Defense Department and the nation celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Month, Sept. 15 to Oct. 15.
- NASA Space Station 20th: Hispanic Heritage MonthIn honor of Hispanic Heritage Month, we recognize Hispanic astronauts who have flown to the International Space Station (ISS) and contributed to its assembly, operations, and research activities.
- Documented Rights: An Online ExhibitDocuments in the National Archives give voice to our national struggle for personal rights and freedoms. From the Emancipation Proclamation to the five cases that comprised Brown v. Board of Education, this exhibit features a sampling of documents from all regions of the National Archives.
- Records of Rights: An Online ExhibitExplore records of the National Archives documenting the ongoing struggle of Americans to define, attain, and protect their rights.
- National Park Service Celebrates Hispanic Heritage MonthSeptember 15 to October 15 is celebrated nationwide as National Hispanic Heritage Month. It traditionally honors the cultures and contributions of both Hispanic and Latino Americans as we celebrate heritage rooted in all Latin American countries. More than 500 years of Hispanic and Latino history and heritage can be found in national parks or shared through National Park Service programs and partners in communities across the country.
- Ten ways to celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month in national parksThis Hispanic Heritage Month, discover the connection between national parks across the country and Hispanic/Latinx heritage. From visiting parks in person to learning about Hispanic/Latinx history to exploring ways to get involved in parks, Hispanic Heritage Month is an opportunity for all to learn about the intersection of national parks, conservation and recreation with Hispanic/Latinx heritage.
- Our Journeys Our Stories: Portraits of Latino AchievementOur Journeys/Our Stories: Portraits of Latino Achievement explores the diversity of the Latino experience in its portrayal of a group of extraordinary men and women and the stories they tell. Like the exhibition, this companion book combines personal narratives, portraits, and dichos, or traditional sayings, to provide an inspirational, illustrated anthology of Latino accomplishments across generations.
- Social Security Celebrates Hispanic Heritage MonthSocial Security touches the lives of every American. Hispanic Heritage Month begins on September 15 but we’re starting to celebrate a little earlier this year. Hispanics make up our nation’s largest ethnic minority group with a population of 57.5 million, according to 2016 statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau. In fact, Hispanic Americans form 17.8 percent of the nation’s total population.
- Congressional Research Service Report on National Hispanic Heritage MonthThis fact sheet is designed to assist congressional offices with work related to National Hispanic Heritage Month, which
is observed from September 15 to October 15. It contains links to census and demographic information, a CRS report,
sample speeches and remarks from the Congressional Record, and presidential proclamations. It also contains links to
additional cultural and historical resources and selected educational, cultural, and advocacy organizations.
Hispanic Americans in Congress, 1822-2012 by ISBN: 0160920280Publication Date: 2014-04-14Updated through 2012, Hispanic Americans in Congress 1822-2012 is written for a general audience and researched using primary and secondary sources, this book contains a profile of every Hispanic American who has served in Congress. Former Member profiles are introduced by contextual essays that present major events in congressional and U.S. history. Additional artifacts, lesson plans, and interactive features are available on the book's companion online exhibition located on the History, Art & Archives website for the U.S. House of Representatives at http://history.house.gov. Hispanic Americans in Congress also includes: Pictures--including rarely seen historical images--of each Hispanic American who has served in Congress Bibliographies and references to manuscript collections for each Member Statistical graphs and charts Appendices with Hispanic Members' committee assignments; committee and subcommittee chairmen and chairwomen; Hispanic Americans in Congress by state and territory; and Congressional Hispanic Caucus and Congressional Hispanic Conference chairmen and chairwomen A comprehensive index Middle school through post-secondary school libraries should have this resource available to students as a reference for research term papers about Hispanic leaders in the US Congress. Public libraries and political organizations may also want to have this comprehensive Member resource available for patrons.
- Celebrate National Hispanic Heritage MonthThe HHS Office of Minority Health (OMH) is committed to advancing Better Health Through Better Understanding for Hispanic/Latino individuals by providing them with culturally and linguistically competent healthcare services, information, and resources. When patients are provided with culturally and linguistically appropriate information, they are empowered to create healthier outcomes for themselves and their communities.
- Discover Hispanic heritage at these historic sitesInterior and its bureaus preserve and interpret historic sites across the country. For Americans whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America, these places connect them to our nation’s shared history. From early explorers to modern day leaders, Hispanic Americans have influenced America’s culture and played an important role in society.
- 5 Hispanic Leaders Who Changed Labor HistoryHispanic workers have played an important role in the history of the nation and the labor movement. Here are five labor leaders who have made important contributions to work in America.
- Celebrating the Rise of Hispanic Women WorkersGaining a deeper understanding of the experience of Latina workers is critical as we Build Back Better with greater equity and inclusion. The pandemic has disproportionately affected Latinas, who are overrepresented in food preparation and service jobs as well as the leisure and hospitality sector. Here are some key statistics describing the state of Latina workers.
Civil Rights
- FindLaw.com - Civil Rights: U.S. Supreme Court Decisions From race and gender discrimination to sexual orientation discrimination and struggles over disability rights, civil rights cases are a very significant area of law that the U.S. Supreme Court has encountered on many occasions. This page includes a list of U.S. Supreme Court decisions involving civil rights and discrimination.
- National Archives - Brown v. Board of Education The Supreme Court's opinion in the Brown v. Board of Education case of 1954 legally ended decades of racial segregation in America's public schools. Chief Justice Earl Warren delivered the unanimous ruling in the landmark civil rights case. State-sanctioned segregation of public schools was a violation of the 14th Amendment and was therefore unconstitutional. This historic decision marked the end of the "separate but equal" precedent set by the Supreme Court nearly 60 years earlier and served as a catalyst for the expanding civil rights movement.
Voting
- Harris County VotingVoting Information and Registration in Harris County, Texas
- La Historia Uncovered Season 2, Episode 1: “The History of Voting Rights in Latino Communities”More information on the video above and the video series produced by Julissa Arce in partnership with UnidosUS and The Mujerista.
Resource Guide for the Study of Hispanic History & Culture
- National Education Association Hispanic Heritage Month Resources for K-12Celebrate National Hispanic Heritage month with the following lessons, activities, videos, and more.
Select Publications at the Kelley Center for Government Information
- Hispanic Heritage Month, Sept. 15 - Oct. 15 : conversational Spanish, an introduction : guía de idioma byCall Number: C 3.6/2:H 62/2Publication Date: 1991
- An Act to Amend Public Law 90-498 to Provide for the Designation of National Hispanic Heritage Month byCall Number: 102 STAT. 1012.Publication Date: 1988
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University