Government Resources on Native American Heritage : More Resources
Native American Heritage Month is an annual celebration of achievements by Native Americans and a time for recognizing their central role in U.S. history.
Genealogy Information
- Trace Indian AncestryThis page from the Bureau of Indian Affairs provides information on how to conduct research and how to pursue tribal enrolment.
- Crow Census DatabaseThis resource, put together by the Library at Little Big Horn College, provides name and family information.
- National Archeological Database (NADB)The National Archeological Database—a computerized communications network for the archeological and historic preservation community—was established to improve access to information on archeological activities nationwide.
Non-Government Organizations
- Native American Rights Fund (NARF)The Native American Rights Fund (NARF) holds governments accountable. We fight to protect Native American rights, resources, and lifeways through litigation, legal advocacy, and legal expertise.
- Native American EthnobotanyA Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants.
- NativeTechAn internet resource for indigenous ethno-technology focusing on the arts of Eastern Woodland Indian Peoples, providing historical & contemporary background with instructional how-to's & references.
Primary Resources
Treaties
- Documents of American Indian diplomacy : treaties, agreements, and conventions, 1775-1979 byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1999
- Treaties between the United States and the Indian Tribes. (1845-1867) The public statutes at large of the United States of America, byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1848
- Indian affairs. Laws and treaties. byCall Number: KF8203 1972 (Library Service Center)ISBN: 0404067107Publication Date: 1971The Indian treaties from 1778 to 1871 are compiled in these volumes, recording the sales of Indian lands, US Presidential Proclamations, statistics of the Indian agencies and tribes, miscellaneous letters and documents relating to reservations, and decisions of the Supreme Court. Updated through 1938
- Tribal Treaties DatabaseOklahoma State University
Reports of Government Departments
- Annual report of the Commissioner of Indian AffairsHathiTrust
1828-1908 - Annual reports of the Commissioner of Indian AffairsUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison
1826-1932 - Bulletin / Smithsonian Institution, Bureau of American Ethnologyno. 25 (1903)-no. 200 (1971)
- Indian Land Cessions in the United States, 1784-1894 (U.S. Serial Set, Numbers 4014 and 4015)Indian Land Cessions in the United States, 1784-1894 is in U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Number 4015, which contains the second part of the two-part Eighteenth Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, 1896-1897.
- Indian elementary-secondary education : programs, background, and issues byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2018
Reference Books
Handbook of North American Indians by Call Number: SI 1.20/2:ISBN: 9780160803888Publication Date: 1978-2022- List of publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology : with index to authors and titles byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1962
- List of publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology : with index to authors and titles byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1956
Congressional Serial Set
American State Papers
"Documents, legislative and executive, of the Congress of the United States ... selected and edited under the authority of Congress"--V. 1, p. v. Originally published: Washington : Gales and Seaton, 1832-1861. Includes indexes
- American State Papers: Indian Affairs 1789-1814Library of Congress
- American State Papers: Indian Affairs 1815-1827Library of Congress
- American State Papers 1789-1838Available to Rice faculty, students, and staff or in Fondren Library
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University