Government Resources on Native American Heritage : Home

Part of U.S. Department of the Interior Bureau of Indian Affairs

This website highlights the Census Bureau's relationship with tribal governments and provides important AIAN and tribal resources. The Census Bureau collects data for the AIAN population and publishes specific counts, estimates, and statistics.

In this webinar, you will learn the differences between the American Indian and Alaska Native Population Groups data and the data for Tribal Areas. The webinar will explain various geography levels, identifying different types of geography available for Tribal Areas and AIAN Populations. We will explore resources of AIAN data, like the Decennial Census, Economic Census and American Community Survey (ACS), and data products and tools for accessing AIAN data.

During this training, you will learn how to access demographic, socioeconomic, and housing data about American Indian & Alaska Native populations, reservations, and trust lands. This workshop will teach novice data users, grant writers, and planners to navigate and use Census Bureau data products from the Decennial Census and the American Community Survey.

Learn more about the American Community Survey (ACS) and data available for American Indians and Alaska Natives. This webinar provides an overview of the ACS and will focus on the ACS data collection process for AIAN populations and tribal areas, as well as how to access ACS AIAN data in data.census.gov or on our website. Additionally, we’ll cover resources for data users, including the AIAN handbook.

The Interior Board of Indian Appeals (IBIA) is an appellate review body that exercises the delegated authority of the Secretary of the Interior to issue final decisions for the Department of the Interior in appeals involving Indian matters. Located within the Department's Office of Hearings and Appeals, IBIA is separate and independent from the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) and the Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs.

The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund is a law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs.

On order for Fondren collection

The Office of Tribal Justice (OTJ) was initially formed in 1995 in response to requests from Tribal leaders for a dedicated point of contact for Indian country-specific legal and policy matters. The office was made permanent on July 29, 2010, with the passage of the Tribal Law and Order Act (TLOA). 25 U.S.C. § 3665a(2010).

Every year numerous bills are considered by state legislatures that can affect tribal communities. These bills address a variety of issues including the environment, education, health care, taxes/revenue, including gaming and education. View introduced, pending and enacted legislation for the current legislative session here.

The Project was created as a cooperative effort between the University of Oklahoma College of Law Library and the National Indian Law Library (NILL), to provide access to the tribal constitutions, codes, and other legal documents.

The Tribal Court Clearinghouse is a comprehensive website established in June 1997 to serve as a resource for American Indian and Alaska Native Nations, American Indian and Alaska Native people, tribal justice systems, victims services providers, tribal service providers, and others involved in the improvement of justice in Indian country. It is one of the most comprehensive websites on tribal justice system issues, and includes a wealth of tribal, state, and federal resources. The Clearinghouse website contains extensive resources on tribal, state, and federal law along with extensive Indian country subject-matter resources, a training events calendar, and resources from all Tribal Law and Policy Institute webinars.

A website providing resources for Tribes concerning Tribal Criminal Jurisdiction over Non-Indians under the 2022 Reauthorization of the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA 2022).