LibGuides: SOCI 358:001 Crime, Punishment, And Society (Fall 2023): Key Databases

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Provides full text for more than 5,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

JSTOR

JSTOR
Online, full text access to scholarly journals from date of inception to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years from present. The archived collection includes journals in humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. The content is searchable by author, title, fulltext with limits by discipline, year, and article type.

SocINDEX with Full Text

SocIndex with Full Text

Key Legal Databases

HeinOnline
HeinOnline is the world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database.
Fondren Library has access to:
- HeinOnline Academic
- U.S. State Full Package
- Fastcase Premium

Access to HeinOnline Academic includes the following:
1. Law Journal Library
2. American Enterprise Institute
3. Brennan Center for Justice Publications
4. CaseLaw Powered by FastCase (basic)
5. Civil Rights and Social Justice
6. Code of Federal Regulations
7. Federal Register Library
8. COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
9. Criminal Justice & Criminology
10. Executive Privilege
11. Foreign Relations of the United States
12. GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions
13. Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
14. History of International Law
15. History of Supreme Court Nominations
16. John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
17. Legal Classics
18. Military and Government
19. NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
20. Pentagon Papers
21. Religion and the Law
22. Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies: A Bibliographic Listing
23. Slavery in America and the World
24. U.S. Code
25. U.S. Congressional Documents
26. U.S. Congressional Serial Set
27. U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
28. U.S. Federal Legislative History
29. U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library
30. U.S. Presidential Library
31. U.S. Statutes at Large
32. U.S. Supreme Court Library
33. U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
34. Women and the Law
35. World Constitutions Illustrated

The U.S. State Full Package includes:
1. State Constitutions Illustrated
2. Session Laws Library
3. State Statutes: A Historical Archive
4. Bar Journals Library
5. State Attorney General Reports & Opinions
6. State Reports: A Historical Archive
7. Prestatehood Legal Materials
WestlawNext Campus Research
Westlaw includes U.S. and state case law (1944-). The system also includes access to: United States Code Annotated, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register (fulltext 1980+), state administrative codes and statutes.
Please remember to link to Westlaw Campus from the Rice website (after configuring for proxy) - Westlaw's security uses a combination of IP/computer address and a customer-specific URL. Using another library link just won't do!