Japanese Studies: Primary Sources
Primary Sources
-
Area Studies: Japan This link opens in a new windowManuscripts, journals, and other primary documents on the history and culture of Japan from the 15th-20th centuries.
-
Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowIncludes Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State from 1930 to 1959.
-
Meiji Japan This link opens in a new windowPersonal papers, diaries, artwork and manuscripts from Edward Sylvester Morse, who lived and taught in Japan during the early days of that nation's openness to Western trade and visitors.
-
Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952 This link opens in a new windowFiles from the British Foreign Office dealing with Japan in the early and mid-twentieth century, covering Japanese-British relations as they evolved through and after World War II. Includes dispatches, correspondence, maps, video interviews, and other formerly restricted papers.
-
U.S. Intelligence on Asia, 1945-1991 This link opens in a new window"This unique online collection is to provide ... the declassified documentary record about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in the Far East during the Cold War (1945-1991). Particular emphasis is given to America’s principal antagonists in Asia during the Cold War era: the People’s Republic of China, North Korea and North Vietnam. However, countries such as Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore and Australia are covered as well (Brill)."
Online Archives
-
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR)A database of modern Japanese relations with other countries, particularly those in Asia. The documents of the archive are provided by the National Archives of Japan, the Diplomatic Archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, and the National Institute for Defense Studies of the Ministry of Defense of Japan.
-
Gaihozu Digital ArchivesDigital collection of former Japanese military maps of the Asia-Pacific region in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
-
Grassroots Operations of the Japanese EmpireThis website, founded by Prof. Sayaka Chatani of the National University of Singapore, introduces a variety of primary sources related to the history of the Japanese empire in English translation.
-
Pacific EncountersThis digital collection features rare materials at the Library of Congress that document early Japanese interactions with the United States and countries in Europe, namely Britain, France, Netherlands, and Russia.
-
Great Kantō EarthquakeA guide to digitized resources on the Great Kantō Earthquake (1923).
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University