LibGuides: Data Resources: Fondren Databases-Data/Statistics

Fondren Library Databases - Cross Displinary (free to Rice faculty, staff, students)

SimplyAnalytics
App for creating maps, charts, and reports using data variables. Click "More..." for instructions for creating an account.

Users are not required to log-in with a user name and password, however, their work will not be saved using this method which is located at the bottom of the SimplyAnalytics log-in page - "To create a temporary account, click here. Your work will not be saved.”

To make sure your work is saved, it is necessary to create an account. To create an account, click on “Create an account" under the email address and password boxes. It will take you to a new screen asking for your email address and password. Check the box agreeing with the End User License Agreement and then click “Continue.” A confirmation e-mail will then be sent to your e-mail address. If you do not receive this email within two minutes, please check your SPAM folder.

Click on the activation link in the confirmation e-mail, and your account will be activated and ready to use.

Note: There is a download limit of 50MB total per semester per user per database.
Sage Data
Statistical data sets across multiple fields like agriculture, finance, education, government, cost of living, and more. Includes tools for visualizing and comparing different data sets.
Social Explorer
Provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information with the ability to create thematic and interactive maps and reports. Includes data on religious congregations.

Note: Users who want to bypass the option to create their own account can click on the Maps & Tables link to access the Social Explorer database.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (Current & Archive Editions)
Social, economic, and political statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau; available editions start in 1898 and continue to the present. See the ProQuest Statistical Abstracts LibGuide for tips on using the database.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Free Archives from U.S. Census Bureau)
Social, political, and economic statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau, available up until 2011. Current information is available in the ProQuest Statistical Abstract Database.
Statistical Insight
Indexing & abstracts for a range of sources from U.S. federal, U.S. state, and international organization publications.

Formerly known as LexisNexis Statistical.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for a diverse and expanding social science research community.
Rice University Resesearch Repository (R-3)
StatsAmerica
Indiana Business Research Center service containing thousands of demographic and workforce data from a variety of federal and state sources along with some commercial and private source data. Indicates the agency source of the data on every table, profile, or map. View or download federal data sets for the U.S., all states, and counties by state.