Data Resources: Education
This guide provides links to data resources on a wide variety of topics and administrative levels (international, national, state, county, and local).
Education
- Digest of Education StatisticsProvides a compilation of government and private statistical information nation-wide in scope about American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
- edstatsWorldwide database from the World Bank
- Education Data and Statistics (TEA)Texas Education Agency site providing links to a variety of its departments' education and statistical reports .
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowProvided by the U.S. Department of Education. I recommend ERIC as the first place to look for education- related topics. If an article is not available full-text online, we may have a microform version in the Kelley Center (Fondren basement). This is the free version. Check also the two vendor provided versions that might contain a full-text version not available on the free site.
- ERIC (via FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowERIC contains over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. The sources it indexes include journal articles, books, theses, curriculum, conference papers, and standards and guidelines.See the list of ERIC numbers only available in microfiche, not online, at http://eric.ed.gov/pdf/ERIC_KeepList.pdf.
- ERIC (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowERIC contains over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. The sources it indexes include journal articles, books, theses, curriculum, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. See the list of ERIC numbers only available in microfiche, not online, at http://eric.ed.gov/pdf/ERIC_KeepList.pdf.
- Higher Ed Outcomes : Tracking 8th Graders' Post Secondary SuccessTexas Tribune's effort to provide free data about the educational outcomes of every public school student who started 8th grade in a Texas public school during eight academic years (1996-2003). Provides the ability to review and compare student outcomes by Texas region or county.
- Kinder Institute for Urban Research: EducationKinder Institute survey to systematically address Harris County residents' experiences and attitudes about the arts, educational disparities, and public health issues in urban America
- National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP): the Nation's Report CardNational Center for Education Statistics site that also includes special reports for targeted populations.
- National Center for Education StatisticsIncludes data tools, tables and figures, assessments and statistics by level (early childhood, elementary / secondary, and post secondary), with special links for library and international data. Also includes Digest of Educational Statistics, International Comparisons in Education and a Kids Site.
- NCES Digest of Education StatisticsProvides a compilation of American education statistical information from government and private sources for prekindergarten through graduate school.
- NCES Kids' ZoneProvides skill-building games, and facts about education and information to kids about choosing a college or finding a public library..
- NCES National Postsecondary Education Cooperative (NPEC)Developed the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) and produces reports to help Higher Education institutions comply with disclosure requirements.
- RAND Texas Education StatisticsProvides an assortment of K-12 and college and university statistics including enrollment, dropout and completion, salaries, and school finance for Texas and other states.
- Schools ExplorerTexas Tribune's database combining "key academic, enrollment and financial records on all of Texas' 1,300 districts and 8,500 public schools." Includes charter schools and alternative campuses.
Higher Education
Elementary and Secondary Education
Education Data - General
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University