LibGuides: Chemistry: Articles

Finding Articles

Use indexes to find references to research articles and to other materials such as books, book chapters, dissertations, etc.

In some cases, links to the full text are provided.

When links are not available, use the Journals tab on the Fondren Library website to find access points for journals in electronic format.

Some subscriptions are in paper format only; check Webcat to search for journals not found online.

Journal Title Abbreviations

Source Index (Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index, CASSI)
QD1 .A1 A515 1907-2004 - Reference Desk
Lists all periodicals that have ever had an article abstracted for Chemical Abstracts. Gives complete bibliographical information and history of the title. Also, shows library holdings for a title.
All that JAS (Journal Abbreviation Sources) -- Chemistry

Remote Access

For information about remote access, please see the following link:

http://library.rice.edu/offcampus

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Provides full text for more than 5,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
The electronic version of Engineering Index, Compendex indexes the engineering literature (part of Engineering Village platform). (Note: make sure to check Compendex under Select Database on the upper left of the database screen). Indexes the engineering literature. (1884- )
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Citations for doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present. Some master's theses are also available. The full texts of dissertations and theses added since 1997 (since 1918 for Rice theses) may be downloaded.
Inspec This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and links to full-text of the worldwide literature in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
Note: This is on the Engineering Village platform; make sure to check *Inspec* next to Database selection on the upper left of the database screen.
Medline (ISI Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 16,950,000 records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages and U.S. and international patents. Database includes article citations from 1996, and permits citation tracking, and (both) saving searches and email or RSS alerts of new material. The system will export records into major citation managers and prepare a bibliography according to major formats. (1966- )
Web of Knowledge This link opens in a new window
WoK is a database platform providing content in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Chemistry Databases

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys is a web-based resource that combines the content of CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database and offers reaction searching, synthesis, and visualization, as well as an extensive repository of experimentally validated data including structures, reactions and physical properties drawn from selected source publications of relevance to synthetic chemists.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents, substance data, chemical reactions, chemical regulatory data, and chemical suppliers. (1907- ) Registration required. Accounts available for Rice University faculty, students and staff. Apply for Scifinder account.

To learn more about the SciFinder-n platform, view the Quick Start guide.