LibGuides: Kinesiology (Including Sports Medicine, Sports Management, & Health Sciences): Articles

Finding Articles

Use indexes to find references to research articles and to other materials such as books, book chapters, dissertations, etc.

In some cases, links to the full text are provided.

When links are not available, use the Journals tab on the Fondren Library website to find access points for journals in electronic format.

Some subscriptions are in paper format only; check Webcat to search for journals not found online.

For indexes in other subject areas, see Fondren's list of Indexes and Databases.

Remote Access

For information about remote access, please see this link.

Indexes and Databases

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, including books, journal and magazine articles, bibliographies, and trade publications.
Business Source Complete
Full text of scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and other business-related disciplines.
Health Reference Center - Academic
Articles on subjects such as fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, and more.
MedLine (via FirstSearch)
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses (MeSH) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals (1985- updated monthly)
Sports Medicine & Education Index
Indexes the scholarly and trade literature covering physical education. Indexing begins in 1970; abstracts were added starting in January 2001. Areas of coverage range from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered.
PsycINFO
Containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, the database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, sociology, education, linguistics, and other areas. Provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields.
PubMed @ Rice
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to many sites providing free full text articles and other related resources including the PubMed Central digital archive. The PubMed @ Rice University implementation also contains links to the full texts of articles that are part of the Rice University journal subscriptions.
SPORTDiscus
Contains information on the following: sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment.
Sports Business Research Network (SBRnet)
SBRnet is a fee-based service, focusing on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. It's mission is to provide a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
Web of Knowledge
WoK is a database platform providing content in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.