Kinesiology (Including Sports Medicine, Sports Management, & Health Sciences): Reference Sources
A guide to Kinesiology resources in Fondren Library
Databases, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
- Britannica Online
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. Also includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. - Encyclopedia of Sports Science - John Zumerchik
Call Number: GV558 .E53 1999 - Reference Collection
Provides basic information on all sports such as physiological adaptations, strength training, body mechanics, special gear and equipment, and other factors that should be considered when performing a particular sport. - Learning to Teach Physical Education in the Secondary School: A Companion to School Experience - Susan Anne Capel
Focuses on the requirements of student PE teachers in relation to teachinig skills and issues covered in initial teacher education courses. - National Standards for Athletic Coaches
- Personal Trainer Manual: The Resource for Fitness Professionals
Represents the most current, complete picture of the knowledge, instructional techniques and professional responsibilities personal trainers need to provide safe and effective exercise instruction to their clients. It is also designed to serve as a self-study aid to the American Council on Exercise's Personal Trainer Certification Examination. - Sports Science Handbook: the essential guide to kinesiology, sport and exercise sciences. - Simon P. R.Jenkins
Call Number: GV558 .J46 2005 - Reference Collection.
Provides clear definitions of the many scientific and technical terms used in kinesiology and sports science. Covers other disciplines that are related to sport sciences such as biochemistry, biomechanics, functional anatomy, epidemiology, kinanthropometry, motor behavior, nutrition, psychology, physiology, and sociology. Also provides references to key books and journal articles.
Dictionaries
- Concise Medical Dictionary
Contains over 11,000 clear and concise entries, covering all aspects of medical science. Includes medical techniques and equipment, drugs, general medical practice, health service organizations, and treatments. Was recently expanded to include medical ethics, clinical governance, emergency medicine, pathology, and diagnosis.
- Definitions: Health, Fitness, and Physical Activity
Draws together definitions of terms commonly used in the field. Over the past 50 years there has been considerable change in the definitions of terms such as physical fitness and even health. New terms have evolved such as wellness and metabolic fitness. Compiled for the President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports Research Digest.
- Dictionary of Food Nutrition
Covers terms one would encounter on food labels, in advertising, and in the media. Also included entries on food groups as diverse as shellfish (abalone, whelks) and condiments (mignonette, salsa), and gives clear explanations of technical terms such as hyperalimentation and Zeocarb.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Covers the disciplines of zoology, botany, evolutionary science, medicine, physiology, human anatomy, cytology, and genetics.
- Food and Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet and Exercise
Enables users to evaluate the claims made about different diets and types of exercise. Covers all matters relating to diet and exercise including diet methods, food supplements, sex and exercise, sports injuries, anatomy, energy-related terms, exercises for improving strength, flexibility, stamina, weight control, training methods and principles, calorie requirements of different activities, and other subjects.
- Merriam-Webster Online
Includes both a dictionary and online thesaurus feature.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University