Anthropology: Films and Blogs
Films
Use OneSearch to search across Fondren's streaming and physical video collection. Select the Videos and Audio Visual facets for the most complete coverage (this tutorial demonstrates the process).
- Academic Video Online (AVON): Anthropology CollectionOver 7800 videos including Alexander Street Press's Ethnographic Video Online collections.
- EVIA Digital Archive Project This link opens in a new windowUnedited ethnographic videos with peer-reviewed scholarly publication, with the ability to search or to browse by language, depositor, subject, or recording date.
Note: To expedite access, first time users should access EVIA from an on-campus computer to set up a personal account, which can then be used for access both on and off campus.
- Kanopy. Subject: AnthropologyKanopy streams hundreds of ethnographic and anthropological films, ranging from "classic" films on the !Kung and Yanomamo societies to recent reconsiderations of those works, along with many contemporary documentaries.
- Films on Demand: Anthropology VideosThis video collection contains over 700 items from producers such as PBS, BBC, TED, Java Films, The Green Interview and many other producers. All titles are searchable by transcript.
- Filmed interviews with leading thinkers: AnthropologyFrom the site of Alan Macfarlane at Cambridge University. Videos on Cambridge's Streaming Media Service.
Selected Blogs
- AnthrodendumFormerly "Savage Minds", anthro{dendum} is a blog on sociocultural anthropology going back to 2005.
- The Anthropology NewspaperIncludes updates from numerous anth. feeds, updated daily.
- SAPIENS"A digital magazine about everything human, told through the stories of anthropologists."
Anthropology News
- Anthropology NewsMonthly newsletter of the AAA.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University