Information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Some of the many subjects covered include: anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.
Archaeology Data Services (formerly known as BIAB) provides information about articles and books on the archaeology of Britain and Ireland, including over 100,000 references to publication from 1940 onwards. To that dataset they have added records from earlier bibliographies, containing records from as far back as 1695.
Over 9.5 million full text articles of all academic subjects contributed by over 5,000 serials titles, nearly 2,000 in social sciences and humanities alone. Note: Full text access is available only for the following subject areas--the Literature, History, Philosophy and Politics, Military Affairs, Law sections for the China Academic Journals Full-text (CAJ), the China Doctoral Dissertations Full-text database, and the China Masters' Theses Full-text database (CDMD).
"D-PLACE contains cultural, linguistic, environmental and geographic information for over 1400 human ‘societies’. . . . All cultural descriptions are tagged with the date to which they refer and with the ethnographic sources that provided the descriptions. The majority of the cultural descriptions in D-PLACE are based on ethnographic work carried out in the 19th and early-20th centuries (pre-1950)."
Bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Dates of coverage: 1935 - .
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) covers over 400 scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities, or treating Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics. A guide to searching the Hispanic American Periodicals Index is available online. Dates of coverage: 1970 - present (updated annually).
Includes access to Energywire, Climatewire, E&E Daily, Greenwire and E&E News PM.
"E&E News is a news organization focusing on energy and the environment.
Our five daily publications and video programs deliver original and compelling journalism that keeps top decisionmakers in government, business, NGOs and academia informed and ahead of the curve. E&E’s success as an independently owned news organization -- established in 1998 -- relies on producing timely and objective reporting that our subscribers from all sides of the issues value and trust.
This database covers current ecology research, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction.
"Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment (ProQuest)."
This article and primary-source literature database incorporates the Black Writing and World Literature collections from ProQuest, including thousands of literary texts and plays from Latin America, the Caribbean, the African Diaspora, and South and Southeast Asia.
Containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, the database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, sociology, education, linguistics, and other areas. Provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to many sites providing free full text articles and other related resources including the PubMed Central digital archive.
SocIndex (formerly Sociological Abstracts) covers 3,000 journals (and some books) in sociology, social planning/policy, and related subjects. "...offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others."
Includes over 204,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases, including Women Studies Abstracts (1984-), Women's Studies Database, New Books on Women & Feminism, WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies, Women, Race, & Ethnicity: A Bibliography, The History of Women and Science, Health, and Technology: A Bibliographic Guide to the Professions and the Disciplines, European Women from the Renaissance to Yesterday: A Bibliography and Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research. (1972-)
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Provides full text for more than 5,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Google Scholar provides a multidisciplinary citation platform with links to free full texts. With this localized implementation, additional full texts are available for resources licensed by Rice University, and no manual setting of Rice preferences is required when accessing Scholar off-campus. Note the case law button to locate court opinions from federal and state courts and the ability to include patents in searches for articles.
Includes a "Cited by" link at the bottom of an author search result. Includes self-citations. There might be multiple entries for one work.
Provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more, Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities.
Access provided by the Frederica Killgore Endowment.
Online, full text access to scholarly journals from date of inception to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years from present. The archived collection includes journals in humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. The content is searchable by author, title, fulltext with limits by discipline, year, and article type.
Citations for doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present. Some master's theses are also available. The full texts of dissertations and theses added since 1997 (since 1918 for Rice theses) may be downloaded.
Indexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages and U.S. and international patents. Database includes article citations from 1996, and permits citation tracking, and (both) saving searches and email or RSS alerts of new material. The system will export records into major citation managers and prepare a bibliography according to major formats. (1966- )
The Web of Science is a database on the Web of Knowledge platform that integrates multiple citation indexes:
● Science Citation Index (1900-present)
● Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)
● Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
● BIOSIS Citation Index (1926-present)
● Current Contents Connect: 1) Life Sciences; 2) Clinical Medicine; 3) Agriculture, Biology & Environmental Sciences; 4) Physical, Chemical & Earth Sciences; 5) Engineering, Computing & Technology; 6) Social & Behavioral Sciences; 7) Arts & Humanities; 8) Business Collection; and 9) Electronics & Telecommunications Collection
● Data Citation Index (1900-present)
● Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present)
● Web of Science Core Collection: 1) Book Citation Index Science (2005-present); 2) Book Citation Index Social Science & Humanities (2005-present); 3) Conference Proceedings Index for Science (1990-present); 4) Conference Proceedings Index for Social Science & Humanities (1990-present); 5) Current Chemical Reactions; and 6) Index Chemicus
● Zoological Records
● BIOSIS Citation Index (1926-present) - Experts review all materials to create the most robust solution for Life Science research. This includes specific indexing only found in Biosis for easy navigation. Materials include all Life Science research found in journals, conference proceedings, symposiums, patents, books, meetings, etc. Full links of source record to cited reference (2005-present) and archives indexed back to 1926. Enhances Web of Science access by creating links to Biosis Citation index for items only indexed in this resource.
● Book Citation Index: Science and Social Science Editions - This scholarly book content complements and enhances the citation relationships between journals, conference proceedings, and books. Coverage of over 40,000 editorially selected books, starting with publication year 2005. 10,000 new books added each year. Comprehensive cited reference search and reciprocal links to/from book records and book chapters.
● Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science and Social Science & Humanities Editions - This index lets you use cited reference searching to see the full impact of conferences and other professional meetings. You can track the influence of papers, authors, and conference series to reveal emerging trends and new ideas before they appear in journals. Over 12,000 conferences indexed annually.
● Data Citation Index (1900-present) - This index aggregates the meta-data from over 70 data repositories globally... Data Studies and Data Sets indexed from each qualified repository contain citation links that integrate with journal literature indexed within Rice's Web of Science access.
● Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present) - This index facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions. This source merges the value-added patention citation index for over 42 patent issuing authorities globally.
● Current Chemical Reactions & Index Chemicus - A searchable database of state of the art chemical reactions and their chemical structures. It provides access to a broad range of all areas of chemistry, coverage of a variety of reaction types and focuses on novel synthetic data to minimize duplication.
Zoological Records - This is a comprehensive, world-wide literature index pertaining to animal science. As the authoritative record of taxonomy, Zoological Records provides scientists with a way to both conduct the research necessary to establish species novelty, and ensure that their new discoveries are recognized in the global scientific community.