LibGuides: Anthropology: Digital Archives

Online Collections

For many more digital archives, search Research Guides in relevant subject areas such as history or English literature.

Digital Anthropology Archive of Comparative Slavery (DAACS)
"Learn more about enslaved Africans and their descendants living in the Chesapeake, Carolinas, and Caribbean during the Colonial and Ante-Bellum Periods. Analyze and compare archaeological assemblages and architectural plans from different sites at unprecedented levels of detail. DAACS is a community resource, conceived and maintained in the Department of Archaeology at Monticello, in collaboration with the research institutions and archaeologists working throughout the Atlantic World."

Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings This link opens in a new window
"Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study (Adam Matthew)."
Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (the) This link opens in a new window
"The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI) is the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology (the study of humankind) in its broadest and most inclusive sense (Wiley)." View the institute's papers, manuscripts, letters and images from the 18th century to recent times.
Royal Geographical Society Archive This link opens in a new window
"The Society's archive contains vast collections of documents, maps, photographs, expedition reports, manuscript materials and books, and span 500 years of geography, travel and exploration (Wiley)."
"The RGS holds one of the largest private map collections in the world. It includes one million sheets of maps and charts, 3000 atlases, 40 globes (as gores or mounted on stands) and 1000 gazetteers. The earliest printed cartographic item dates back to 1485 (Wiley)."

Ruth Benedict Papers
"Approximately 8,000 pages from the Benedict archive [are] open access and include notes from various field expeditions, including trips with the Pima, Serrano and Zuni throughout the 1930s." From Alexander Street Press.