Anthropology: Reference Sources
General Reference
Finding Reference Books in the Catalog
Search for reference books in OneSearch by entering a keyword along with "encyclopedia", "dictionary", "handbook", "companion", "bibliography", etc. Recently published print reference books are often available for checkout.
General E-Reference
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowContains important reference works in archaeology, sexuality, food, mythology, and many other subjects. Search the full text of all books or browse a single work.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new windowThe current GVRL collection contains dictionaries and encyclopedias covering these areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Environment, General Reference, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Science.
- Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowBritannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors, and access articles selected by the editors. Also known as Encyclopedia Britannica.
Anthropology and Archaeology E-Reference
Anthropology and Archaeology E-Reference
This is a partial list of relevant e-reference resources for anthropology and archaeology. For more e-reference resources, see the Databases A-Z list, Database Type: Reference, or search OneSearch for encyclopedias, handbooks, companions, dictionaries, etc. in your area of study. Some of these e-book sources are listed on the right.
Key Reference Sources
- Anthropology - Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowRead overviews and annotated bibliographies for over two hundred anthropological topics and major figures. These are very useful introductions to the significant literature in a wide variety of subject areas, and part of a larger collection covering many disciplines.
- Anthropology - Oxford Research Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowThis digital volume provides access to articles based on the latest, most significant research and written by active and well-respected scholars within Anthropology (Oxford University Press).
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowThis collection includes over 40 ebooks on Archaeology and over 60 ebooks on Linguistics, each full of in-depth chapters giving scholarly overviews of important topics.
More Digital Reference
- Archaeology Data Service Library (ADS Library) This link opens in a new windowArchaeology Data Services (formerly known as BIAB) provides information about articles and books on the archaeology of Britain and Ireland, including over 100,000 references to publication from 1940 onwards. To that dataset they have added records from earlier bibliographies, containing records from as far back as 1695.
- The Open Encyclopedia of Anthropology"The Open Encyclopedia of Anthropology (formerly Cambridge Encyclopedia of Anthropology) is a growing teaching and learning resource. Its goal is to facilitate access to scholarship in Social Anthropology for experts and non-experts worldwide. All entries are written and peer-reviewed by leading academics."
- Encyclopedia of AnthropologyEd. H. James Birx, by Sage Reference. 5-vol. encyclopedia with broad coverage of anthropology and archaeology. Pub. 2006.
- International Encyclopedia of Anthropology This link opens in a new windowThis Encyclopedia contains "over 1,000 entries ... including: ecology, human evolution, gender, health, language and education, kinship, politics, and power, as well as biographical entries of many of the world’s most influential founding anthropologists (Wiley)."
The SAGE Handbook of Cultural Anthropology by ISBN: 9781529703870Publication Date: 2021-05-25"The SAGE Handbook of Cultural Anthropology ... contains a rich body of chapters on all major topics relevant to the field, whilst also presenting a possible road map for the future of the field."- Theory in social and cultural anthropology : an encyclopedia byEd. R. Jon McGee and Richard L. Warms, Sage 2013
- 21st Century Anthropology: A Reference HandbookEdited by: H. James Birx, Sage 2010.
- Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Theory This link opens in a new windowThis encyclopedia contains "original entries focusing on the origins, evolution, and global development of contemporary social theory (Wiley)."
Annual Review of Anthropology
- Annual Review of Anthropology"The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology." Browse recent volumes to get a sense of the field's current issues and directions for research.
More reference e-books
Here are more example of reference e-books. They may be viewed online or downloaded, according to the e-book format.
A Handbook of Practicing Anthropology by ISBN: 9781118484340Publication Date: 2013-01-16"An essential career-planning resource."
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University