Slavic / East European Studies: Articles
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL) This link opens in a new windowAccess to full text PDF articles from 280 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern Europe.
- Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and RenaissanceIter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit partnership dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development and distribution of online resources.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex to resources on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowProvides full text, summaries, and bibliographic information for articles, interviews, obituaries, fiction, reviews of performances and films, and other resources in the humanities.
- International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new windowPublishing information on articles, book chapters, and other scholarly writings from on the medieval period, covering Europe and the Middle East and produced from 1981 onward. Topics include music, art, religion, history, classics, languages, rhetoric, and education. Provides links to either the full text where available at Fondren, or to request items through interlibrary loan.
- Elektronische ZeitschriftenbibliothekProvides access to over 45,000 scholarly journal titles.
- Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new windowCitations for doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present. Some master's theses are also available. The full texts of dissertations and theses added since 1997 (since 1918 for Rice theses) may be downloaded.
Slavic and East European Studies Resources
- ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies) This link opens in a new windowInformation on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Some of the many subjects covered include: anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.
- Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL) This link opens in a new windowAccess to full text PDF articles from 280 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern Europe.
- Zeitschriftendatenbank This link opens in a new windowThe largest database of periodicals and serials in the world. It contains over 1,2 million titles in all languages, published from 1500 to the present day.
- Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei"Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei [is] a digitized serial publication that indexes Soviet-era periodicals from 1956 to 1975. The paper version, in publication since 1926, covers more than 1,700 journals, series, and continuing publications of academies, universities, and research institutes in the fields of humanities, natural sciences, and the social sciences, and it also covers the popular periodical literature.
Language and Literature
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new windowThis bibliography covers literature, languages, linguistics, film and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide between 1926 and the present.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism This link opens in a new windowCriticism on the works of authors alive between 1960-current time. Each entry includes a biographical essay on the author's life, works and importance and a selection of reviews and critical essays.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new windowBiographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of literary figures.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University