LibGuides: Jewish Studies: Reference Sources

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture Online This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia covers the recent history of the Jews from 1750 until the 1950s, from Europe to America to the Middle East, North Africa and other non-European Jewish settlement areas (Brill).

Jewish Encyclopedia
"This website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations. Since the original work was completed almost 100 years ago, it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History (e.g., the creation of Israel, the Holocaust, etc.). However, it does contain an incredible amount of information that is remarkably relevant today."

Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
With over 850 entries and approximately 400 contributing scholars, the Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online is the authoritative reference work for students and researchers in the fields of Hebrew linguistics, general linguistics, Biblical studies, Hebrew and Jewish literature, and related fields. Searching the encyclopedia may require installing a Unicode Hebrew font.
Encyclopedia of Jewish Book Cultures Online This link opens in a new window
This is an encyclopedia on book cultures meaning it places textuality and materiality of the book in the center of its investigation. It focuses on the paleographic features, intended function, cultural significance, readership, acceptance, and design of particular books and genres, as well as the producer-consumer relations involved in the making and circulating of books. It covers more than 2000 years of Jewish book cultures (Brill).

Holocaust Encyclopedia
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (USHMM) has some tremendous online resources, and the recent addition of the Holocaust Encyclopedia continues in this tradition. The interactive Encyclopedia includes hundreds of articles that cover topics like the Third Reich, refugees, ghettos, and the liberation of Nazi camps. Each entry contains hypertext links to other entries and relevant resources, including timelines, photo galleries, and primary source documents. Visitors can use the "Browse Articles" to get started, and they should also note that the articles are available in French, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Turkish, Arabic, and six other languages. In the "Additional Resources" section, visitors will find a link to "The Holocaust: A Learning Site for Students" and a complete "A-Z" list of all the articles.

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new window
The discipline areas to which the IMB is relevant include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies. Dates of coverage: 1981 - .

The encyclopaedia of Judaism / Neusner, Jacob, 1932-

REFERENCE – BM50 .E634 2005

Encyclopaedia of Midrash : Biblical interpretation in formative Judaism / Neusner, Jacob, 1932-

Pages: 2 v STACKS --BM514 .E53 2005

Council of American Jewish Museums
Site also contains the equivalent list for International museums.