Brazilian Studies: General Reference

The current GVRL collection contains dictionaries and encyclopedias covering these areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Environment, General Reference, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Science.

Premium Collection contains over 200 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including the Oxford Encyclopedia of Brazilian History and Culture.

Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors, and access articles selected by the editors. Also known as Encyclopedia Britannica.

(includes the Encyclopedia of World Biography and the Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture)

Contains detailed textual, data and graphic information for countries and regions. Topics include: country overviews, political history and conditions, economic status, investment overviews, social background, and environmental situation and issues.

From the Central Intelligence Agency, this site provides country information organized by country, region, or topic. Topics include communications, defense, economy, flag and map, geography, government, people and transportation.