LibGuides: South Asian Studies: Articles

Indices and databases about South Asia

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
This on-line version of BAS contains more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.

South Asian Periodicals Index
SAPI "provides bibliographic citations to the extensive periodical literature published in and about South Asia. An ever growing resource, the South Asian Periodicals Index strives to be inclusive in terms of subject matter, geographic heritage and linguistic origin."
South Asia Research Documentation Services (SARDS3)
"SARDS3 is an electronic database containing bibliographic references to South Asia research articles published in journals, collective volumes, conference proceedings, Festschriften, etc. SARDS3 is a joint undertaking of the Indological Chairs at the Universities of Bonn, Halle, Munich and the management of the University Library Halle. The focus of SARDS3 is on the humanities and social sciences. To date, over 67,000 citations are electronically searchable, covering the period from 1797 until 2009. All entries can be downloaded and printed."
Trace Foundation's Latse Library
The premier research library dedicated to modern Tibetan studies.

Multidisciplinary databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Provides full text for more than 5,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online, full text access to scholarly journals from date of inception to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years from present. The archived collection includes journals in humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. The content is searchable by author, title, fulltext with limits by discipline, year, and article type.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
The ATLA Religion Database is a comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. The file contains citations from international titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. It also includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews, and Doctor of Ministry projects from ATLA's print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). (1949-)
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to resources on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new window
This bibliography covers literature, languages, linguistics, film and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide between 1926 and the present.