Fondren Owl Perks Guide: Resources and Classes

The Digital Media Commons supports the creation and use of multimedia in education, scholarship, and creative expression. It includes an audio studio, video/photography studio, computer workstations with a variety of software editing programs, and a multipurpose room. 

You can sign up for short courses on Excel, Tableau, the Adobe Creative Suite, managing data, and more. Check the Classes & Events calendar for dates and times.

Video and still cameras, high end AV and audio equipment, projectors, and more are also available for check out to Rice ID holders. Printing services are also offered.

The GIS/Data Center provides library patrons with access to GIS software and supporting hardware, to data resources, and to print and digital map resources.

Short courses in ArcGIS software and individual assistance are available to all Rice faculty, staff, and students.

The Woodson Research Center collects, organizes, preserves and describes:

• Rice University Archives
• Rare Books 
• Manuscripts

These materials are available for Rice faculty, students and alumni, as well as local, national and international researchers via exhibitions, lectures, and other public events, and by publishing print and web-based materials highlighting the department's primary source collections.

Find other libraries near you to access even more resources:

• Houston Public Library
• Harris County Public Library
• Fort Bend County Libraries
• Galveston County Public Libraries
• Clayton Library Center for Genealogical Research

The Kelly Center for Government Information, Data, and Geospatial Services is a federal depository library and provides free and effective public access to government information, including patents and trademarks, to the Rice community and to the 7th Congressional District of the State of Texas. 

The Business Information Center, located in McNair Hall on the second floor, has a variety of print and online resources related to companies and industries, investment, statistics, careers in business, marketing, and more. Some resources are limited to use in the business library but most are available through the Fondren Library catalog.

You can also find a wide variety of print and online resources on personal finance, student loans, mortgages, and more from Fondren Library. The following databases may also be of interest:

This selection of resources for young readers is designed to help you navigate through the wealth of online information in Fondren's collections. Most of Fondren Library's materials are intended for college- or post-college-level students and researchers, but we offer databases and other resources that are useful for elementary through high school needs.

The collection of databases below will retrieve materials suitable for the younger audience. Most indicate intended reading level, and may allow you to limit the retrieved material by very specific level of reading achievement (e.g. Lexile reading score).