A list of some useful websites. Be sure to scroll down for Doctor Search tools!
Chemical Data Access Tool: This web-based tool allows users to find health and safety information submitted to EPA under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA).
Flu Vaccine Finder: Search by address or zip code to find flu vaccines (options for flu shot, intradermal flu shot, high dose flu shot, and flu nasal spray) near you.
History of Vaccines: A Medical Education Project of the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. A great resource for vaccine information. Includes Top 20 questions about vaccines.
Medline Plus: Health information including health topics, drugs and supplements, videos, health news, and more.
Merck Manual Home Edition: Full online version of the Merck Manual Home Edition for patients and caregivers.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI): From the website: "The National Center for Biotechnology Infromation advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information."
National Institute of Mental Health: Offers a wide variety of information on mental health including outreach, clinical trials, reasearch and funding, and educational resources.
NLM Disaster Information Management Research Center: A resource from the National Library of Medicince, National Institutes of Health. Includes many useful links, emergency response tools, disaster health literature, and much more.
Public Health Image Library: This website offers a plethora of images related to public health. From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Psychology Today: Health, Help, Happiness: Includes a tool to help you find a therapist.
Recall Warnings: Free recall warinings and alerts on consumer products, baby products, food recalls, car and auto recalls, drug recalls, tire recalls, and more.
Texas Department of State Health Services: Provides a wealth of information including how to get a birth or death certificate, renew a professional license, information on immunizations, how to prepare for an emergency, help quitting smoking, and finding health services in a specific area. Also available in Spanish.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Website of the FDA. Includes information about recalls and alerts, regulatory information, research news, and much more.
FDA: Public Health Focus: Covers many topics including food, drugs, medical devices, tobacco, cosmetics, and more.
Resource Guide for Public Health Preparedness: "...a gateway to freely available online resources related to public health preparedness. Resources include expert guidelines, factsheets, websites, research reports, articles, and other tools aimed at the public health community. All resources are cataloged and may be searched by keyword or browsed by topic"
Doctorfinder: Online doctor finder resource from the American Medical Association.
Medicare.gov: Healthcare Provider Directory:From the official U.S. Government site for medicare, this site lets you search by specialty, location, or last name.
Psychology Today: Find a Therapist: Search by zip code or city to find a therapist near you.
WebMD Physician Directory: From WebMD, allows you to search for a physician by location and name.